Happy Christopher Columbus Day!!


I haven’t posted for a few days, so I need to catch up a little.  Today is the day that we celebrate Christopher Columbus’ discovery of America.  Actually, I read that he stumbled across it by accident when he was seeking another route to the Far East.  So when his ship ground ashore, he jumped up and down and hollered, “Hey, guys, look what I’ve found!!”

I was going to write a post yesterday, but I got lazy.  First, it took me too darned long to work the Sunday crossword puzzle.  Then after that things went down hill.  I got the bad news that the ALCS championship game between the Texas Rangers and the Detroit Tigers was postponed until today.  That messed up my Sunday plans.  Then I was disappointed that we didn’t get more rain that was promised by the Weather Channel. (More on the rain, later in this post.)  So what is a guy to do after such disappointing things.  I decided to take a nap.

So anyway, here I am.  We did get quite a bit of rain on Saturday.  Officially, 2.83 inches.  We had received only five inches all year until this rain, so now we are at nearly eight inches.  O. C. Fisher Lake picked up a little run-off as you can see in the picture.  But don’t get too excited.  I spotted some American White Pelicans way out in the middle, and they were wading.  So that expanse that you see is only a very few inches deep.  A large puddle, so to speak.  We need a lot more on the watershed north of town to get it up where it should be.  Note the distance, a nearly quarter of a mile from this boat-ramp to the water.

Boat ramp at O. C. Fisher lake

The other picture shows the Concho River, that is the flow source for the lake.  I visited the bridge upstream on Highway 2288 and saw that there was no water flow.  Just a puddle upstream a bit from local runoff.  The land around here is so parched that most of the rain is just getting soaked in.  Some more good storms may result in the river running hard again.

North Concho River riverbed

But at least, the water, what there is, is drawing birds again.  While there, besides the pelicans, we saw, cormorants, herons, sandpipers, etc.

In other news, I did spend a little time just browsing some of my very, very old images and came across a few that you may enjoy looking at.

San Angelo Balloon Fest

Some people may remember the old balloon fests that used to be held down at Santa Fe Park.  This photo is probably around 20 years old.

"Ride 'em, Cowboy"

We also used to have PBR (Professional Bull Riding) event at the coliseum here in San Angelo.  I don’t know what happened, it seemed to draw large crowds, but for some reason we haven’t been on their schedule for a few years.  San Angelo does have the seventh largest PRCA rodeo in the country.  It happens in the month of February and has so many entrants, it takes two weeks to run it.

How about this one:

Downtown Luckenbach, Texas

How many of you have visited “downtown Luckenbach, Texas, to maybe see Willie and the boys.  As you know Willie Nelson made this place with his song of the same name.  Of course, he knows the place well, as it was one of his favorite places to hang out.  You can buy a stuffed armadillo, complete with a Budweiser bottle in it’s claws there.  A good cold beer can be bought it the back, served by a guy that will sing you a song along with it.

Red-tailed Hawk

My posts are never complete without a good bird photo.  My favorites are my hawk photos.  This one, of course, is a Red-tailed Hawk.  I don’t remember when it was photographed, but sometime in the past couple of years.

This post is for Shelly at Kamiak Creek, who likes to see Texas Tweeties in her e-mail inbox, and all of my other blogger friends.   Since this is my first post in several days, this may help with all of your withdrawal symptons. :-)

In the great words of the famous Arnold Schwarznegger, “Ah’ll be bahhhk”.

Ya’ll have a great week. :-)

23 thoughts on “Happy Christopher Columbus Day!!

  1. Bob, I am so glad you are sharing your archived pictures. They are so lovely! But the one that made me say “Aaaah…” was the Red Tailed Hawk. Catching a bird in flight is difficult and this one is simply majestic looking. ~ Lynda

  2. Thanks for the “shout out” at the end of your post!! :) I am glad you pointed out that the boat ramp in that first photo is 1/4 mile from the water, or I would not have never thought that was the boat ramp with the field growing up in what should be your lake…. :( Very nice balloons – vibrant colors and dynamic composition. I love watching hot air balloons – I don’t see them here as much as I did in Pennsylvania where I grew up. If the stars align right for me this summer, I hope to make it to an annual balloon festival in New Jersey.

    • Thanks for commenting, Shelly. Heck, I like doing shout-outs. You never know when I might do one for somebody. I love photographing balloons, because of the vivid colors.

  3. Went to Luchenbach back in the mid 90′s… we got no rain from this last front (glad you got some ) we’ve had less then an inch in 14 months…try Alpine labor day weekend for their balloon fest usual 6 to 12 ballons show up…we have an Acorn woodpecker hanging around this week seems to have no fear of us and eats seed from the feeders first time we’ve had one in the 12 years we’ve been here…have a great week…

  4. Love Willie and Luchenbach Texas.. The photo of the Redtail Hawk is fabulous..We have balloon rides here in Pagosa and sometimes they land in front of our house. The colors are so vibrant and you did a great job capturing them..I indulged in a short nap Sunday too..God Bless and have a great day

  5. Morning Bob. I thoroughly enjoy your tweeks. Thanks much. Re today’s piece. Waylon Jennings made Luckenbach famous, with Willie’s help in the song.
    I was in F’burg when Hondo Crouch came in to the bar at the Sunday House and announced that he had bought the place. It ain’t been the same since. Cheers, Ross.

    • You’re right, of course. I had a bit of a senior moment. As a matter of fact there is a line in the song about, “Waylon, Willie and the boys”, if my memory serves me correctly. Waylon Jennings wrote, and also sang the song, “Luckenbach, Texas.” So I stand corrected.

  6. Wow, a nap, sound great! :) Hope Texas gets more rain, as well as all of the Southwest. We’re in a bad drought here too in New Mexico. Loved your writing today. you had me chuckling. :) And who knew Luchenbach was such a cool looking place (but of course, if Willie hung out there, it would have to be. :) Love the color and perspective in the balloon shot, and wow, on the red tail hawk.

Leave a Reply

