Love is in the air…………..


Except this isn’t the love boat.  It is the annual invasion of the Lubbber Grasshoppers, (Romalea guttata).  The are about 3 inches long and they are all over some of the country roads out here in west Texas.  They are mostly in “pairs”.  I was on a road near the Twin Buttes Reservoir yesterday, and I don’t know how many honey-mooning families I wiped out because the highway was covered with them.   I decided to get a nice photo of the action, though.

Lubber Grasshoppers – “catching a ride”.

Photographed with my Canon EOS 7D and Canon 100-400mm lens, from about 8 feet.  Exposure 1/640 sec. @ f11, +0.3EV, ISO 320.  Hand-held.  Cklick on the image to see an enlargement.

34 thoughts on “Love is in the air…………..

  1. Ha great shot Bob! Your writing made me laugh out loud! Never knew how grasshoppers reproduced! Learn something new everyday! Thanks for sharing Bob and hope you didn’t squish too many on the road! :)

  2. Bob,
    Once when I was 7 I caught one of these larger types and accidentally separated a leg. Feeling terrible remorse, I asked my mother for a needle and thread so I could sew it back on. Mom said it wouldn’t work, and refused me her needle and thread… Ah well, So much for my budding career as an orthopedic surgeon. ;)

  3. My wife won’t let me view any X rated web sites, Bob. So, this will likely be my last log on.
    Jim Cunningham

  4. I really like this shot Bob. We don’t get grasshoppers in huge numbers like this but it does happen with Mormon Crickets around here – even makes the roads slippery at times. Lubbers are interesting insects – they have poison glands in their throax so when shrikes eat them they generally discard the thorax.

  5. They are beautiful but the thought of running over those and the resulting slime would gross me out to the point I may have trouble getting out the door.Oddly enough, I saw something of this size on the sidewalk a few days ago and have NEVER seen anything here of that size-hope it is not a trend.Usually just little grasshoppers about one and a quarter inch long.On a positive note, it must be heaven for the birds.
    And the mating! Lots of that going on, confess to taking photos of two geese-at lease this fellow isn’t trying to submerge her in the pond.

  6. Awesome image, Bob. I’ve been meaning to do a post on the blog about the odonates that I see making more odonaes, but just haven’t gotten around to it. Very well shot.

Leave a Reply

