Bronzed Cowbird


Just one image to talk about today.  We made s short trip out yesterday to try to find some photo ops, but it has been so hot that I think the bird are heading for the cooler mountains.  I did spot this Bronzed Cowbird, (Molothrus aeneus). It was on the ground at Middle Concho Park.

Bronzed Cowbird

This one was continually ruffling his feathers like he was trying to cool himself off.  Photographed with my Canon EOS 7D and 500mm lens with a 1.4 tele-converter.  1/2000 sec. @ f5.6, +1.0EV, ISO 3200.

I am trying to keep up with a few regular posts while continuing work on my forth-coming book.  I am in the progress of selecting the photos that I want and then trying to organize them.  But, having said that, I may not try to organize them, but just put them hap-hazardly in the book so each page will be a new surprise and not predictable.

Then there is the narrative.  I want to avoid it being boring, instead trying to make it entertaining and humorous.  So stay tuned…….. :-)

24 thoughts on “Bronzed Cowbird

  1. Putting together a photo book is quite a task, and with the thousands of awesome shots you have, I’m sure it has to be difficult to pick which ones to include. I made my ‘first’ book of photos with just eagles in it a few months ago with a Groupon coupon I’d purchased through a ‘semi-cheap’ online photo company, just for my benefit and learning experience. I most definitely wanted to do an osprey one, but I knew that one would take me a long long time to create, so the eagles won on my first attempt. I was pleased with the results, and am now starting another book on my grandson who just turned one, showing his first year through “Grandmom’s lens”. Only problem? I have taken thousands of him since his birth! Selection is so hard! :-)

    • I am using “Blurb” for this book. I had used it several years ago for a small softcover. This time it will be better quality as I am having them use better photo paper and it will be a nice hard-cover. But there format is so easy to use. But, of course, like you the photo selection will be the hardest. I want to keep the book at between 60 and 80 pages, and I have around 300 or so images that I want to use. Obviously, I will have several to a page, and that organization will be a ‘fun’ thing. :-)

    • Actually, I don’t know where I find the time. I get up early about 6:00AM and I don’t stop until about 3:00PM to take a short nap. It seems that I am always busy at something. Of course, that is good, but sometimes I feel I am spinning my wheels and not getting much accomplished. Oh well, it keeps me off the streets and out of the bars, not to mention, it may help me to live a tad longer. :-)

  2. Oh a funny humorous book filled with amazing birds? WOW!! Sounds fantastic… I am definitely going to love it. I am eager to know more. :D

    Great photo, Bob. This bird has beautiful colors.

    • Thanks, Shelly. It is so nice to hear that you and all of my other blogger friends are so excited about my book. It will make me work harder to put out a good product.

  3. Yep, I do believe this little bird is trying to cool off..I have noticed the last two days, our birds here seem to be sitting with wings open and ruffled feathers..it turned warm..still cool nights . Good shot..colors are great..

    • Thanks, Rob. I appreciate your comment on this. So far, I have found nearly 150 images I want in the book, but I want to keep it about 80 pages. This is going to be fun. :-)

Leave a Reply

