Northern Cardinal – the “Redbird”


Northern Cardinal, (Cardinalis cardinalis).  No matter what you call it, nobody can resist liking this flashy, red bird.  It can be found throughout most of the midwest and eastern part of the country.  Ann and I took a short trip to San Angelo State Park on Sunday morning and I took this photo at the bird blind there.

Northern Cardinal

While going through my archives this morning, preparing for this post, I came upon a couple more images that I think you may have never seen.  I think this next one had been splashing in a pond before me getting the photo.

Northern Cardinal

Northern Cardinal

I hope looking at these photos will help jump-start your week.  There is something about looking at happy birds, that can give a person a feel-good feeling.

28 thoughts on “Northern Cardinal – the “Redbird”

  1. I have a lot of these that visit my hard all the time. We had crazy weather last week that toppled nearly 4 trees in my yard alone. I had to watch and make sure three nestlings remained safe. Mom and dad didn’t trust me but placing the babies as high as I could in nearby trees and keeping the cat inside helped. I hope. Great post

  2. Super shots Bob! We have a resident pair that have nested in the same wild rose bush for three years now! I love how they stand out against the green of the woods!

  3. As if someone has thrown a red color on him. Beautiful bird photos, Bob! Very fascinating. :D

    Ask him not to take bath. :P

  4. Neat subject and very nice photos Bob. I’m especially fond of the middle image. I’ve never even seen one of these birds, much less photographed one.

  5. used to see them in Ontario, Canada and the occasional sighting here in Alberta that causes great excitement. Thanks for sharing these and trust you are well.

  6. Cardinals populate our yard with generations of their families. We will actually get flocks come through in the late winter or early spring – didn’t know they flocked before we had a yard full several years in a row! Such beauty – thanks for this perfect Monday photo! Kathleen

  7. You are so right Bob…red is a jump start color..the photos are beautiful. Love the last one..he looks as though he is up to something??? Have a great day..and once again, thanks, I needed jump started…back to the studio …I am doing a cougar today..

  8. Love the cardinal, Bob ….. I also see that great photo of the sharp-shinned hawk. A friend of mine who’s a photographer snapped a hawk on the way to bringing me home and we’ve been in discussion about what it was ever since. He insists it’s a sharp-shinned… but I think it’s a Cooper’s Hawk. The guide book says the Cooper’s Hawk has the rounded tail… and his photo seems to show me a rounded tail. Have you any clues on how you managed an ID????

    • A tough question, Merrill. The Coopers is about 5 inches taller, if you are in an area where you see several of both and can see the comparison. I do see many of each in that respect. But I also, the Coopers head is a bit flatter when seen in profile, with the Sharpies head looking rounder. When perched, the Sharp-shinned looks more slender. This seems to be an on-going debate in different birding forums. I would like to see your friend’s picture. Maybe you or he could e-mail it to me at bobzeller1@aol.com. I could give you my opinion.

Leave a Reply

