Great Blue Heron No. 1690


Have you had enough of my Great Blue Heron photos yet?  As most of you know, that bird is one of my favorites to photograph. I have hundreds of images of them, and probably a good percentage of them should be deleted as I know that I will never show them to anybody.  But that’s like trying to decide which of your children you should get rid of.

But I think it is safe to say that I haven’t taken one thousand, six hundred and ninety images of them.  That number in the title is the file number of this most recent publishable photograph: IMG_1690.  A few of you that are on Facebook have probably already seen the image, that is if you are a FB “friend”.  I just realized this morning that I had never posted it on this blog.

We, Ann and I were at Middle Concho Park, where I really see most of the Great Blue Herons that I photograph.  Or though it seems.  We have also seen them downtown on the Concho River;  at O.C Fisher Lake (when it isn’t dry); Twin Buttes Reservoir; and Spring Creek Park.

So this Great Blue Heron (Ardea herodias),or number 1690, was wading along the opposite short of the river.  But that is where I get most of my shots.  When they are on my side, they are usually down below the bank, in the reeds, where I can’t get a shot.  I particularly like this image.  I like the pose, and color of the background and the nice even light.  I might even call it my current favorite, that is until I get another one that I like better.

Great Blue Heron No. 1690

Anyway, as usual, I was able to maneuver my car near the river bank so I   could shoot through my open driver’s side window.  I was shooting with my Canon EOS 7D and Canon 500mm f4 lens with a 1.4 tele-converter.  The exposure data was 1/250 sec. @ f6.3, ISO 1000.  Aperture priority.

Now, I know that I will be back there again, watching for more Great Blue Herons.  I am sure that I will come across more great images, but in the end I will never forget old #1690.  Click on the photo to see a beautiful enlargement.

To review or purchase my new book of wildlife and landscapes, that includes this photo, click this link:  Book.   Available in hardcover or softcover.  For autographed hard-cover copies, contact me personally at bobzeller1@aol.com.

24 thoughts on “Great Blue Heron No. 1690

  1. Now that’s a heron with attitude and swagger! No wonder you love this photo… it’s in superb condition too… just beautiful…

  2. A terrific GBH image Bob, I can see why it is a favorite! I probably have taken more than 1690 Great Blue images but I’m not going to count them because it might make me look greedy for Great Blues!

    • In retrospect, Mia, I may have taken that many, too, when I remember that when I am shooting, I come up with 3-400 exposures per day. I just tend to go back through old images, and cull out many shots that I think that I will never use, duplicates, bad exposures, etc. Thanks for the compliment. I appreciate it. :-)

  3. It’s rained here pretty much non-stop for several days. When it stopped yesterday, Scott and I went out to the creek to see how high it was (and it WAS!). We startled a mature great blue heron just a couple of yards from us on our side of the creek. What a majestic creature he was. He promptly swooped off, gliding effortlessly down the creek inches off the water.

    I really need to be better at being “camera ready” in my backyard. LOL

    • Hi, Shannon, that is why I always have a camera in my hands or nearby. I kick myself when I miss an opportunity. I agree about them being so majestic. Beautiful and graceful when in flight. Thanks for the great comment. :-)

Leave a Reply

