Monday Photo Ops


We decided to take a drive out to the parks around Lake Nasworthy this morning.  We needed to see the lake level dropping inch by inch.  As we drove around Middle Concho Park we again saw a juvenile Yellow-crowned Night Heron across the river from us.  From about 100 yards I tried to get pictures of him feeding along the shore.  He caught something and it looked like a lobster.  He managed to swallow most of it, but he still had the claw to finish off.   Of course, there are no lobster within a thousand miles of us, so I guess it is a large crawdad.

Yellow-crowned Night Heron with crawfish claw.

We watched him a bit more, then continued our drive.  Again, not much was stirring until I rounded a little bend and saw a flash of red in front of me.  Into a  bush it flew.  I grabbed the binoculars and realized that it was a Vermilion Flycatcher.  It flitted among the branches and finally I was able to get my viewfinder on it and snap this picture.  Not one to write home about, or frame for the art gallery, but acceptable.

Vermilion Flycatcher

So ends another day in the field.  I hope you enjoyed the results.  Click on either image to see an enlargement.

20 thoughts on “Monday Photo Ops

    • Thanks, Traci. What puzzles me is although that really looks like a crab leg, I am afraid that it is only a crawfish. We don’t have crabs or lobster in the river here. But it sure is really red. :-)

  1. Love the flycatcher photo, Bob – guess you are looking at the technical quality when you say it’s not the best, but the atmosphere and pose are lovely.

  2. I like the Vermilion Flycatcher and the spider webs on the branches. The heron looks kinda sad; like, “I can’t believe I ate the whole thing” sad. Good photos! Thanks for sharing your Monday offerings.

  3. Love the vermillion! The only time I’ve ever seen one is at Guadalupe Mt. Nat’l Park – Rattlesnake Springs. He led us on a little chase, but I wasn’t a picture-taker back then. Such a poser there. Nice capture, in usual form.

    • Thank you very much, Shannon. When we were in Roswell, NM, a couple of months ago, we were told to try to get to Rattlesnake Springs. They said that there was great birding there. We didn’t have time then, but I would like to get back there sometime. BTW, Ann and I have decided that we were going to try to get down your way maybe January or February. We’ll need you to tell us all the great places to see and do. I am ashamed to say that we have lived in Texas since 1961 and we have never been further east or south than San Antonio.

  4. Love the heron, but the Vermilion Flycatcher is my favorite..had them AZ. I think the pose is great, like ooops., somebody sees me..Have a great evening..I am doing a Nuthatch on Brazilian Agate right now and am enjoying..these little guys are real clowns..

Leave a Reply

