Black-crowned Night Herons – Juvies


We took a quick run to the San Angelo State Park this morning.  We checked into the blind and saw the regulars were still stopping by for their morning share of the bird seeds.  Nothing exciting, so we ventured over to a new area that has just opened up.  In one particular low area of the park, a spring exists, and the park personnel graded up the dirt to build another pond.  A couple of months ago it look pretty bare, but reeds started growing around it, and a few fish were planted in it.  Now it is starting to attract birds.

As we drove up, at first we saw nothing but swallows, red-winged black birds and a bunch of doves.  Thinking that there was nothing else, I drove on by, turned around and came back from the other direction.  As we glanced over the pond we spotted two juvenile Black-crowned Night Herons perched in the trees.  The light was pretty uneven, but I managed to get several images.  I used my Canon EOS 7d and 500mm lens with a 1.4 tele-converter attached.  I shot the photos from the window of my car.  These are a couple of the better ones.

Black-crowned Night Heron – juvenile

juvenile Black-crowned Night Heron trying out it’s wings.

Hope you enjoyed the photos.  Click on either one to see an enlargement.

20 thoughts on “Black-crowned Night Herons – Juvies

  1. Nice to see a juvie BCNH Bob – I don’t run across the youngsters very often. Sounds like you have a new area to shoot in the state park – good for them for doing the upgrades. BTW, I bought my second 7D today – now we both have two (if I remember correctly).

    • I hope they continue to upgrade that area. It is an ideal for another of their bird photography blinds. You’re right, I do have two 7ds. I like the convenience of not having to change lenses, and I am sure you will like it, to.

  2. These are simply wonderful photos Bob. In a million years I’d never get to see a Black-crowned Night Heron… but these photos are so full of life and the lines of motion so well documented. I think these are great. So often a photographer waits for that profile shot of a bird, but when I can see a photo when the bird is in motion it helps me to draw life-like birds.

    I keep all your posts in an e-mail file so I can go back and refer to some like these when I want to feel the bird moving. I doubt I’d ever draw a Black-crowned Night Heron (never say never, Merrill) but seeing photos like this helps me with all heron drawings. Many thanks.

  3. Nice Images, Bob.

    Two thumbs up to TPWD & the SASP staff for taking what nature has provided them and making it better! So, were there any dragonflies about the area ;) ?

Leave a Reply

