Roadrunner and Wren


We are still in the summer doldrums when it comes to birding here.  Going to the SA State Park has slowed down to producing only a few birds for photography.  In a couple of weeks it will start changing and we will have the winter birds beginning to migrate.  I don’t know about other areas, but we have many, many more birds here in the winter than we do in the summer.

On one of our latest outing we saw only 17 different species, but luckily I managed to get a couple of pictures.  This Bewick’s Wren (Thryomanes bewickii) was in a tree outside of the bird blind.  I took the picture from the window at a distance of only about ten feet.

Bewick’s Wren

Later on, down the little lane that leads to the blind, we spotted this Greater Roadrunner (Geococcyx californianus), in a tree along the path.  The light wasn’t too great, early morning sun filtering through the branches.

Great Roadrunner on tree limb.

Enjoy the photos and click on either one to see and enlargement.

I am going to do some blatant advertising again, and direct you to the links on the right of this page, to preview and/or purchase a book or calendar.  I might add that my book is also available as an e-book for your iPad.  (at at cheaper price, too)  For signed autographed copies, contact me direct at:  bobzeller1@aol.com.

23 thoughts on “Roadrunner and Wren

  1. Great photos Bob… both of birds I don’t get to see way up here. Sadly I see fewer birds during our winter months… by late winter it can get down right boring birding! We’re already into a few weeks of temps in the lower 40′s and 50′s at night and I’m missing that 100°F heat. Happy week (:

    • Thank you very, very much, Melissa. I didn’t realize that birds were so scarce there in the winter. Of course, I from living there before, I should have known. Wow! Is it that cool already? Our temps are getting a bit more moderate, if you can call mid nineties moderate. :-) But really, in the 80s and low 90s it is just perfect here. You have a super week, too. I’ll be in touch. :-)

  2. Well, in the Vancouver area of B.C., it is the same: far more birds in winter than summer, although this year’s summer crop of birds has been rather good, all told. In any event, I would love to see a Roadrunner one of these days. And nice shots!

  3. Hi, Bob, What great photos as usual. It will have to be several months from now before I can buy any books…. probably even next year. My book budget gets depleted very quickly at the beginning of the year. I’m hoping I have a bit of a windfall so I can afford all the ones I want.

  4. I love the eyes on the Road Runner..it says it all and the wren is fabulous..You manage in spite of lighting, to give us some great shots of birds..your photography just keeps on getting better…

Leave a Reply

