Ruby-throated Hummingbird


First, before I write anything else, I want to thank each and everyone of you that has given me good wishes and support through my hospital stay and subsequent surgeries.  I am now feeling nearly 100% thanks to the miracle of modern day medicine.  It is hard to believe that it has been only, as of this writing, one week since my last surgery.

Now to get to this post.  I can’t believe my luck.  Anxious to get out of the house finally, I decided to just go sit in the blind at San Angelo State Park.  That was yesterday, and maybe I was feeling just a tad weak, so I opted to just use my Canon 100-400mm lens on my Canon 7D.  I left my big 500mm lens at home.

While we sat there, our patience was rewarded.  I heard a distinctive hum of a hummingbird.  Thinking that is was just another Black-chinned, the predominant hummer of this area, I almost ignored it until I saw it land on a twig in a tree.  Much to my surprise, it was a Ruby-Throated Hummingbird, (Archilochus colubris).   It was the first one that I had seen this year.

The light was terrible, as you can see.  This was about 8:30AM, and the bright sun was from the left.  With the help of Photoshop I was able to salvage these two images, even though they are a bit noisy.  On a side note, I read somewhere that hummingbirds spend about 80% of their time perched.  I didn’t know that.  Enjoy the images, and click on either one to see an enlargement.

Ruby-throated Hummingbird in bad light.

Ruby-throated Hummingbird in bad light.

Now that I am able to get back in the saddle, so to speak, I hope to get back out in another day or two, and get some more images.  It’s great to be alive. :-)

39 thoughts on “Ruby-throated Hummingbird

  1. I’m so glad those surgeries have got you back to 100%! It’s amazing how quickly people can recover these days!! I bet during recovery, you were just ITCHING to get back out with your camera – and I’m glad you can finally do that. :)

  2. Hey He’s back…yippeeee! Great shots Bob! We’ve been visited several times this summer by a pair of Ruby’s. It’s fun to see them fly to the flowers and if you’re lucky enough they will hover just barely a foot away. They seem to enjoy my wife’s colorful summer shirts!

    • To my disappointment, this one was gone the following day. The Rubys don’t come here very often, but I will remain vigilant. Thanks for the comment, David, and yes I am back and feeling great. :-)

  3. I have been missing much of late. Bob, I am sorry that I missed the fact that you were ill and in hospital! However, it is good to hear that you are on the mend. Take it easy, don’t push yourself, good things are worth waiting for. We are patient.
    ~ Lynda

  4. I bet you were antsy…. not one to be idle are you?!? Take it easy babe no one is going anywhere I’m sure if you give yourself some down time!!

    We used to have a tree right outside our front door and window and one summer a male ruby throated hummingbird perched right where I could see it all summer and fall. Almost every time I looked out the window (which is almost constantly!!) I would see “George perched on his favorite branch hanging out. It was comforting in a way, almost like having a pet.

    • You are so right,Melissa. I hate to be down. But I am feeling great this morning so I should be back at posting regularly again. About the Ruby-throated Hummingbird, alas, it is gone already, but maybe another will be along soon. Thanks so much for commenting. :-)

  5. So glad to know that you are nearly 100% again. :D

    It might be bad light, but I loved the photos. Especially this bird, it is so pretty. :)

    Take care, Bob.

  6. So glad to hear you’re feeling better, Bob – and doing what you love best! Love the pics of the hummingbird – amazing iridescence in the first photo. I think the prospect of winter would be much nicer if we could all look forward to hummingbirds!

  7. Hey Bob – glad your surgeries were successful and that you are well enough to get back in the saddle! I was away observing and “helping” with bird banding near the Smoky Mountains – 11 warbler species we caught between the rain clouds. A real neat weekend with expert birders and naturalists. Happy to see your images of these hummers!

  8. Now ain’t THAT something. A bad picture from Bob is still an awesome picture for me! I’m also surprised that a ruby was up your way. That’s all we get here.

    We are enjoying the feeder wars on the back porch again – it really peaks at the end of the month. Here was our batch last year, there were quite literally hundreds of them, though only 30-40 queuing up at a feeder all at once (http://wp.me/p28k6D-8F).

    So fun!! Those little guys are such little gangsters. I had a pair fight each other right down to the ground, just inches from my feet, oblivious to my presence.

  9. So glad to see you posting again..the hummers are su[per..even though you are not tooo pleased with them..All of hummers have left and headed down to you..God Bless and take care of yourself..

  10. So great to see you so chipper… but do be careful still. You’ll have up and down days for awhile. But I can tell not much will hold you down.

    I’ve been reading about the problems the hummers are having in the drought sticken areas of our country. There are whole areas where the wildflowers have been decimated and there was an alert to set up as many feeders as you can to provide the nourishment they will need for their migration. So I’m very glad to see these hummingbird photos from you.

    It’s the subject of my post this week on my blog. One of the bloggers who visits my blog comes from South Africa and asked if there were hummingbirds in his part of the world. I didn’t know off hand but imagine there are. I’ve seen some marvelous photos of exotic hummers but couldn’t tell him off hand.

    Glad to see you’re on the mend.

    • Thanks for the great comment, Merrill. I really appreciate hearing from you. You are so right, I do not like to be kept down, unable to do anything, so I usually get right up and get back on the horse. :-)

  11. Glad to hear you are recovering well, Bob. I’ve only ever seen a humming bird up close at my grandparent’s house because they have lots of bird feeders lol. I love these! So beautiful! The 100-400mm is heavy for me so I know how you feel. Get some rest and fresh air! Glad to have you back!! :)

  12. Bob, I’ve been eyeball deep with the beginning of a new semester, so I missed that you were in the hospital. I’m happy to read that you’re doing so well. The photos of the hummers are GRAND. (I know you’re not 100 percent happy with them, but I am!) If I had to pick a favorite bird, I’d pick the hummingbird. They remind me of fairies! Thanks for capturing these. Cheers, Denise

Leave a Reply

