Just give a little whistle………..


We ran across a bunch of Black-bellied Whistling Ducks, (Dendrocygna autumnalis), yesterday at Middle Concho Park.  There were probably about twenty-five of them, just sauntering along by the river.  They were whistling, too.  Really.  They seemed happy.  I got several shots of them before I went on my way.

Black-bellied Whistling Ducks

Black-bellied Whistling Ducks

Since I didn’t know how to whistle along with them, I decided to let them alone and continue downstream.  Or was it upstream.  Anyway, I was watching for the pair of Wood Ducks that I had seen a few days ago.  They were nowhere to be seen.  However, I got another image of a Great Egret to share with you.

Great Egret

More ducks and other water birds are starting to arrive from the north and I saw some Least Sandpipers and also I got this image of a Greater Yellowlegs, (Tringa melanoleuca).

Greater Yellowlegs

  Enjoy the photos and click on any of them to see enlargements.

22 thoughts on “Just give a little whistle………..

  1. I’ve never seen (or heard) those ducks Bob – must be quite an experience to hear them whistle. Sounds like bird numbers are beginning to pick up for you. I’m glad you’re well on the road to recovery from your surgeries so you can take full advantage.

  2. Great photos..I have never seen your Black Belly Whistling Ducks before..they are something to behold..pink legs and all..The Egret was so elegant..their plumage is magnificent..Enjoyed the video too. Have a great day..back to the Studio to finish up a pair of Signets..

  3. I enjoy it when the whistlers fly over my house several times a day. You can certainly hear ‘em coming in to land!

    Here’s a short video link from the creek behind our house where we like camp with the kids. You can hear the whistlers and their signature call as the fly over to their group (at the end). Proud yellow-crowned night heron parents grace the film footage as well.

Leave a Reply

