Where have I been all week………


Darned if I know where I have been all week.  It has just been one of those times where time got away from me.  All of a sudden it is Saturday already.  I guess the holiday had something to do with it.  But, actually, holidays to Ann and I are usually just another day.  We have no relatives close to us.  So what is my excuse for not posting all week.  Darned if I know……

But here I am.  We got out a few days to do a bit of birding, between household chores.  You ought to see all of the acorns that we have been cleaning up.  We have two Live Oaks, (why do they call them live oaks, of course they’re live), and they drop acorns like you wouldn’t believe.  We sweep trash cans full and now I looked again when I went to check the mail, and it’s time to sweep them up again.  That’s a job for tomorrow.  Maybe.  Unless we go birding again.

So here are a few images from the past few days.  They are all tiny birds taken in the trees.  Danged hard to get the exposures right when they are hiding in the shadows.  It means more work in my digital darkroom to get it right.  I hate to have to do that.  But what the heck.  I have time on my hands. (when I’m not out sweeping acorns). 

We went to our usual place out at Spring Creek Park.  I drove through an area to be used to camping and we spotted this Brown Creeper.  We don’t see many of these, so it is always a nice surprise to spot one.  They climb the bark of trees looking for tiny morsels.  They keep going until they reach the top, then the fly back down to the bottom and start all over.  As you can see, the image is quite noisy, but I will post it anyway.

Brown Creeper

Later, we saw this sparrow.  At first I thought it may be a juvenile White-crowned Sparrow, but after getting it in the computer and adjusting the lighting so I could ID it, I discovered that it is a Chipping Sparrow.  He seemed to be staring right at me.

Chipping Sparrow

We saw this Bewick’s Wren on a fence post.  They are hard to photograph, usually flitting around too quickly, to get in the view-finder, but this one co-operated nicely for me.

Bewick’s Wren on post.

Again, I apologize for the quality of my images.  Not quite up to my standards.  All three were pretty dark and shaded, and trying to brighten them up with my software, produced a bit more noise that I like.  Sometimes I can’t make up my mind, whether this blog is about photography or the birding.  If it is about birding, then I shouldn’t be concerned about the quality of the photos, as long as you can see the birds.  On the other hand…………     Ah, I think I will quit worrying about such things, and just go with the flow. :-)

29 thoughts on “Where have I been all week………

  1. Haha I know what you mean Bob! I didn’t have any cooking to do but I did get to visit family. Other than that, my days were filled with editing photos. That Brown Creeper is beautiful! A beauty! The exposure looks perfect on that one. Great post :)

    • Hey, Polly. Nice to hear from you. I forgot to tell you that Ann and I raised a toast to you on your birthday. Good luck with your photo business and thanks for your compliments. :-)

  2. I agree, Bob, this week has been one big blurr…Thanksgiving and two day art show over the weekend..Kegged up today watching football and eating leftovers. I love the brown creeper, in fact just discovered we have them here in Pagosa Country, just not at my feeders. I am going to do some paintings of them..it will be a real challenge with their markings. All of your photos are so good, and your birding commentary goes hand in glove with the photos..I look forward to reading your blogs..take care God Bless and have a great Sunday..

    • Creepers aren’t the type of bird to come to feeders. They do their own thing on the trees, looking for insects, etc. I agree. They have some difficult markings to try to copy accurately. Good luck. Thanks for your comment, Syl.

  3. I too hope that you are putting those acorns to good use, they are great for attracting birds and animals.

    This past week got away from me too, I just never seemed to get caught up and this coming week will likely be worse since I expect delivery of my new Windows 8 pc on Tuesday. I just hate setting up a new computer!

    Still, you got out and saw some wonderful birds!

  4. *gasp* I hope “trash cans full” of acorns mean that you are STORING them and not sending them away! I know what you mean about the acorns. My kids collected three or four 5-gal bucket’s full. Of course, mine go to the garden beds for nutrients. If I saw yours on the curb, I might steal it…

    We’re having our Thanksgiving dinner today. It’s looking festive and Ginny’s well again! Glad you had a great week. Too bad you and Ann can’t join us.

      • LOL No trouble. By “storing”, I was referring to (later, perhaps) returning them to your own yard rather than the landfill — acorns break down just as mulch does, free yummies for your trees and plants. After paper and food scraps, yard waste is the 3rd largest category of trash put into landfills. They call me “Trash Nazi” over here, just so you know.

        Of course, if you have a problem with feral pigs, you may want to reconsider putting them in “pretty” areas. Pigs love ‘em and will really tear up the ground to get at them all.

  5. Time got away from me too, Bob. Over the last month, Heather has had 2 surgeries, Issy had pneumonia and Bailey is now coughing and sounding like a bloodhound when she does. But, all is well now, Whew! I hope Thanksgiving was good to you and Ann. All our love to you two. :)

  6. Hi! Your Blog is nice and very interesting.Thanks! I enjoy following your blog! I see you like nature and beauty. I’m an artist.
    I adore painting nature, my blog can be interesting for you. Sergey Gusev, painter.

Leave a Reply

