Trapped in the bird blind.


Oh, the horror of it all!  Hey, it could have been serious. 

We went out to the San Angelo State Park Friday morning to check things out early.  Ann and I were sitting in the bird blind, which to you readers who have never been there, is actually a small building with viewing windows and benches to sit on.  While we were there, Charlie Rudd, one of the park hosts, dropped by for a moment to visit.   Upon leaving, he absent-mindedly latched the door from the outside.

What to do!  What to do!  We didn’t panic or scream or anything horrific like that.  Ann says heck, I’ll just climb out the window.  So since she is shorter than me, that sounded like a good idea.  So she lithely (yeah, right)  climbed out the window, but not without help from me.  She got on the sill, got one leg out the window, but had problem getting her other knee bent.  So I gave her a boost in that area, without breaking any of her bones.  She then went around and opened the door.  It gave us quite a laugh.  Just wait ’til we see Charlie Rudd again.

In other news it seems like I will be leading the monthly Adult Birding Adventure on the second Saturday of each month beginning in January of 2010.  Terry Richmond, who has lead it for several years is retiring.  I am the only person that showed any interest in taking over, according to Ranger Pat Bales.  I have to take the necessary papers to Pat this morning, so the Texas Parks and Wildlife Service can check my non-criminal record, and look at my character references.  Several people I know say that I am a character, so that should be no problem.

My plan is to start the program at 9:00 AM.  That is a little later than the current 7:30 starting time.  I feel that starting later may bring more people out to the park.  I hope to get larger gatherings, and to encourage participants to bring cameras, binoculars, and spotting scopes.  I am far from being an expert birder, but I feel I can learn from others in the group that are more informed.  It should be great fun for all.

Suzanne Johnson, of Eldorado, called us to say some new birds appeared at the water treatment ponds down there.  So we went down there for a few hours yesterday morning.  We saw one Ruddy Duck, and several Eared Grebes.  Both lifers for me.  I tried to get some photos but they were too far away to get usable images.  But what I did get were good enough to make a positive ID.  Suzanne said that she had also seen an American White Pelican, some widgeons, and gadwalls.

I hope to put some of my pictures of the Big Bend trip on my website this afternoon.  I have already framed a couple to exhibit for sale.  So later today, check my site, www.zellertexasphotos.com.  I will have some scenics from the Big Bend, and some new Red-tailed Hawk photos. 

Happy Birding!!

visit www.zellertexasphotos.com.

2 thoughts on “Trapped in the bird blind.

  1. Hey! Bob,
    Glad you made it out of the blind ok! I been enjoying a couple of outings at the eagles nest last week. They’re busy rebuilding! Sounds like you will be pretty busy there at the park! I plan on making a trip to the nest again tomorrow! I really like to come to San Angelo to photograph some of the wildlife creatures there! We just have to play it by ear, and think about it. I’m trying the word press for my blogs! So far I’m liking it! Having troubles with getting my photo on to my blog! But I do like the graphics word press uses!
    https://jenningohotographer.wordpress.com/
    I’ll be spending most of this week getting ready for my open house this next Saturday night! I would like to invite yall to come but I do know how busy you are to! You can visit my online store TJ’s Place at http://tjplace.wwdb.biz to see what it’s all about!
    Well it’s that time to go put my suit on and to go to church! I took over running the sound system 14 months ago, and I really enjoy running it! I also update the church’s website as well http://thevictorybaptistchurch.com all the photos that you see in the photo gallery is the ones that I have taken! My title is the media ministry! It’s my way of tithing, and doing something for the Lord!
    So guess I talk to yeah next time, let me know what you think of my blogs!

Leave a Reply

