Black-bellied Whistling Ducks


The beautiful weather is still hanging around San Angelo, so it gave me a chance to get out and around for a few hours.  Ann and I went to a park out near Red Bluff to see what was around.  On the way out, Sue Oliver caught

Black-bellied Whistling Duck

sight of us and chased us down in her little red truck.  She told us the location of some Black-bellied Whistling Ducks near a public boat ramp.  We followed her directions and sure enough there they were, about 50 of them.  But they were actually in the yard of one of the residents of the area.  It turned out that I was acquainted with the man and he let me onto his lake shore property to photograph the ducks.  One of the photos is here.  It was the first time I had seen a Black-bellied Whistling Duck up close.  And they really do whistle.

Pyrruhloxia

We continued to the park to do a little late afternoon birding.  The previous day Jodie Wolslager had been with us and we saw a Golden-fronted Woodpecker, a Ladder-backed Woodpecker, a Belted Kingfisher, European  Starlings and several sparrows, and this cute Pyrrhuloxia pictured here.

2 thoughts on “Black-bellied Whistling Ducks

  1. Wow! Great pictures! I may have to make me a trip to San Angelo park! Do they have cabins? I think I’m getting this blogging thing down now! And My story is getting better to as I go! Surely was a great experience to see the adult eagle fly right over our heads to go across the highway to land in the field right in front of us! I got so excited that I just prayed that I wouldn’t fall down as I was turning around with the tripod to get some good shots! Everything worked out ok I managed to get lens focused in before it left! I really like the photos your getting with that new camera! I guess I’m stuck with mine for awhile I really enjoy it! I’m hoping with my new business that I would be able to afford a lens like yours! That’s my next I wanter! Well guess I will talks to you laters hopes you can make it to the nest this season!

Leave a Reply

