A few more pictures.


Black-crested Titmouse

Ann and I just got back from Christoval and we just about got blown off the road.  The temperature is 83 degrees but the wind is about 30 mph, making for some hard driving.  I had to go to the Hummer House and check out my inventory, to see if and what I had sold during the winter months.  By the look of the shelves, maybe I had better go into another line of work. 🙂 

If you’re new to the area, the Hummer House is a little bed and breakfast

Northern Cardinal

 place about a mile south of Christoval on Toenail Trail.  It is also a Humming Bird refuge, hence the name.  A great place to stay, nevertheless, if you want to get away for a night or two.   The humming birds will start arriving there in early to mid-March.  But right now you can see White-tailed Deer, Wild Turkey, and various birds.  This is a good time to watch the turkeys, as they are starting  to strut for the ladies.

Lesser Goldfinch

Before we left we stopped at the San Angelo State Park and checked on the birds at the blind.  Looks like they are getting fed regularly.  While there we saw a few Black-crested Titmice, Red-winged Blackbirds, and a bunch of finches.  I think most of the bird population was hunkered down out of the wind.

I am getting spring fever with the warm days arriving.  But I am sure it will be short lived as I know we are still in store for more cold weather, at least for another month or so.

I am adding three more pictures here that I took earlier in the week.  Hope you enjoy.

By the way, if you click on any photo you can see an enlarged image.

More photos visit www.zellertexasphotos.com

Happy Birding!!

4 thoughts on “A few more pictures.

  1. I don’t mind. The copyright info is to let people know that it is illegal to use the images for personal or monetary gain, without my permission. I am glad that I can help with bird identification. Of course, I am not always right, but I have a few experts that watch over and keep me in line. 🙂

  2. Bob
    I hope you don’t mind. I printed your pictures of birds you have sighted in this area. My husband thinks the Black-crested Titmouse may be what he saw with the crest on it. Your pictures should help us identify some of the birds easily. Thanks.
    Diane

Leave a Reply

