Lonely House on The Prairie


About five miles north of Alpine, Texas this house sits abandoned and alone.  I have passed by many, many times over the years.  Each time I have tried to photograph it, but I could never come up with an image that I felt in my heart, portrayed it as I felt.  I was getting quite frustrated with the scene, and myself. 

Last week, again there it was again as I headed north towards the Davis Mountains.  For some reason or other, it felt different.  I stopped the car, got out, and composed the shot as I had done so many times before.  I probably stood in the same places.  But apparently the light was different, maybe it was a different time of day, but I felt that this time I finally got it right.  Below is the result.  I hope you like it.  Photographed with my Canon 7D, with EF 24-105mm f4 L IS AF lens.  Settings ISO 100, 1/400 sec., at f8.  Color and light adjustments made in Photoshop CS4.

Have a look, enjoy.  Click the image for an enlarged image.

"Old House on The Prairie"

5 thoughts on “Lonely House on The Prairie

  1. Bob
    That’s a great picture of the lonely house. I hope you and Ann had a good time at Big Bend.
    Birds have finally found our bird feeders so we have a birding area right here. Haven’t seen anything too different from those at the lake, and not as many varieties, but it is still fun to watch them. The neighbor’s cat and the neighborhood falcon think so, too.

    Diane

  2. It’s sure in better shape than the one I photographed! Seriously though, whenever I see places like the one you photographed, I try to imagine the people that lived there, and what their lives were like. You did the old house justice. Very nicely done!

    Mike Z

    • I tried to convey the emptiness and isolation of living on the great plains. Thanks for the kind words, Mike.

Leave a Reply

