Today’s Monthly Bird Adventure


This morning was our monthly birding adventure at San Angelo State Park.  I fully expected no one to show up, and was prepared to head back home and get warm.  The temp was mid-thirties with 25-30 mph winds so the wind-chill factor was down to about 10 degrees.  But surprisingly four people showed up.

We headed to the bird-blind first, mainly just to get out of the wind.  Inside we sat and shivered but kept the windows closed.  I did manage to get there earlier and put out a little feed for our avian friends, so there were several of them in attendance.  We watched for awhile, found that there wasn’t anything unusul that was going to appear.

Yellow-bellied Sapsucker

We then done a driving tour in our mini-van, keeping it cozy with a little warmth from the heater.  Linda White, the ever-popular Sue Oliver,  a lady named Sally from Rhode Island and my wife Ann were with me.  It was very enjoyable and the highlight for me, anyway, was the sighting of a Yellow-bellied Sapsucker (Sphyrapicus varius).  See picture on left.  I shot it from the van window with my 500mm lens on my Canon 7 camera.  It was another lifer for me, bring my total to 195 if anybody is counting.  Heck, maybe I’ll hit 200 by the end of the year.

Also yesterday I managed to get this photo of a Golden-fronted Woodpecker (Melanerpes varius).  I think this bird is one of  most photogenic of the woodpecker family.  See picture to the right.

Gooden-fronted Woodpecker

 

Enjoy the photos.  Click on either one for an enlarged image.

Happy Birding!

7 thoughts on “Today’s Monthly Bird Adventure

  1. Nice catch on the Sapsucker and the Golden-fronted Woodpecker, Bob. I agree that it is one of the most photogenic of the woodpeckers, certainly of the ones that I’ve seen. It was mighty cold Saturday morning–I was out in it, but it was to retrieve sod squares 😦

  2. Bob
    You’ve had some great pictures lately. We are getting ready to go to Big Bend and hope to see some of the birds you photographed while you were down there. I can’t say I’m sorry I missed the snow down there or the cold weather on your birding adventure this weekend; I guess we won’t be true birders until we get “tough-as-bob”. We are glad you had 4 birders turn out this morning. We did get out to look for rock wrens yesterday and several seemed to be showing off for us when we parked the car. We think we saw a male and a female. When we opened the window we heard a lot of tiny chirping from the rocks–is it too early for their eggs to have hatched?

    By the way, our three bird feeders are starting to bring in all kinds of birds. They seem to be picky about what they eat and are putting their orders for different kinds of bird food. The mockingbirds seem to be the bullies, and the mourning doves patiently wait. The young black cat that lives nearby has been in one feeder a couple of times, but luckily has missed the birds. He appears to be practicing his “I-got-something” stance, but mosty has his face in the sunflower seeds. He doesn’t seem to scare the birds off, because they come right back.

    Diane and Mike

    • Yeah, it is quite possible. But what the heck do I know. I’m still to much of a novice to tell the tiny differences. But thanks for commenting, Linda.

    • It wasb’t so bad once we made up our mind to go for it. Hope you’re enjoying your matte cutting. Isn’t it a blast. I do all of my own matte cutting and framing.

Leave a Reply

