Birding at K-mart Creek


There is a wet area along the frontage road by the old K-Mart building off of Loop 306.  It is part of Red Arroyo and usually has a little stream of water in it.  Since it just a few blocks from our home, Ann and I check it out every time we go by there, which is to say nearly every day.  We have gotten used to calling it K-Mart Creek.

Cedar Waxwings

Over the past year, we have seen and/or photographed a veritable host of avian species.  All either in the creek, which bends around behind the Fireston Store, or in trees or on utility poles in and around the K-Mark parking lot.  Great Egrets, Great Blue Herons, Black-crowned Night Herons, Yellow-crowned Night Herons, Greater Yellowlegs, Belted Kingfishers, a Prairie Falcon, Wilson’s Snipe and a flock of Cedar Waxwings.

Now you won’t see these species all at once, and a lot of the time you won’t see any, but if you frequent it enough you will be rewarded.

Yesterday, we cruised through the parking lot, first checking the creek, then as we were leaving to turn on to Oak Grove Blvd. we saw the flock of Cedar Waxwings.  We was in our mini-van only about 10 feet away, so I came away with some very nice photos.  One of them is posted here.

Then, this morning, driving through again, we saw this Greater Yellowlegs

Greater Yellowlegs

 pictured here.  It was also there yesterday morning, but I think I got the better photograph today.  I have it here for your enjoyment.  By the way, it is safest to do your birding from the parking lot.  If you do it from the frontage road, the traffic may may be a distraction, and the life you save might be your own. 🙂

Enjoy the photos, click on either one to see an enlargement.  For more of my photos check www.zellertexasphotos.com

Happy Birding!!

One thought on “Birding at K-mart Creek

  1. I really like cedar waxwings, but I don’t think I’ve ever seen one in the wild. I know that Mikeal Behrens, our local birder and bird expert, has seen them, but not me. They are so distinctive I am sure I would recognize one if I saw it.
    I will definitely keep looking!

    Mike

Leave a Reply

