Western Kingbird (Tyrannus verticalis)


Western Kingbird

Many signs of spring are now appearing all over the Concho River Valley.  Besides the many bluebonnets and other wildflowers, the spring birds are arriving.  One is the Western Kingbird (Tyrannus verticalis).  Just a few days ago there weren’t any, now all of a sudden they’re everywhere.  It makes you wonder how all bird species know when to be at a place at a certain time.  They obviously arrive indivually as I never have seen a them arriving as a large group or flock.  Now I have seen American White Pelicans (Pelicanus erythrohynchos) arrive in large flocks.  They are a beautiful against a blue sky, forming a slow whirling vortex, then all landing in the water as a group.

Tomorrow Ann and I, along with Ken Corley, are making a short trip down to

Western Kingbird

 Dan and Cathy Brown’s Hummer House.  Dan told us on the phone that the birds are plentiful there, and he also mentioned that a large hawk was in a nest nearby, close enough that he thought I might come away with some photographs.  So we’re looking forward to having a look.

If your interested in my recent back problems, I was surprised to see that my MRI shows that I have a fractured back.  A compression fracture in my lower spine.  I am having treatment on it to relieve the pain and it still may slow me just a tad.  I still intend to try to get some photographs, however crawling on the ground to get them may not be an option for awhile.

Happy Birding

Leave a Reply

