The past week’s odds and ends


Here it is the seventh of August already.  I haven’t accomplished much of anything.  The weather has been so danged hot.  On Monday, I think it was, the temp got to 107, but fortunately the humidity dropped to on 8% so it was more bearable.  It only felt like 100 degrees. 🙂  But that waa a rare day that it was actually hot in the shade.

We got an e-mail from Suzanne Johnson down in Eldoado.  A lot of waterbirds are showing up there at the city ponds.  American Avocets, Black-necked Stilts, Herons, Sandpipers, etc.  I’ve to make a trip down there soon.

Baby Barn Swallow

We did get out yesterday and do a little birding after the birds were fed at the wildlife viewing center.  Getting to see a few more shore birds now, but as I mentioned before the shoreline is so far away we had to set up our spotting scopes.  On our way out we stopped at the main gatehouse for a bit and there was a tiny baby Barn Swallow on the sidewalk that had fallen out of the nest.  The adults were scolding me but I managed to get a picture of the little tyke.

Black-necked Stilt

This morning we ate breakfast at Kenney Blanek’s Cafe with our friends Gene and Ethel Berger.  We meet them every Saturday morning to eat with then solve all the world’s problems.  We still have a lot of work to do in that area. :-).

After that we returned to the park for the birds’ early feeding.  We hung around for a bit to see what was happening.  The only think exciting was we saw two Cactus Wrens chasing and harassing a Greater Roadrunner.

Pertaining to photography, I was hoping to try a little experiment.  I have been wanting to get some real outstanding hummingbird photos.  I’m thinking that I can get close enough, I will stop down my lens (or is it stop up) to to around f22 or smaller.  With that tinier aperture it will limit the ambient light that gets in.  I’ll turn on my flash and even though the sync speed of my flash is about 1/250 of a second, the actual duration of the light from the flash is about 1/10,000 of a second.  Maybe I can freeze the action that way.  Stay tuned.  I will let you know the results.

Leave a Reply

