Hawks, Hawks, Hawks!


To me  there is hardly anything more beautiful than a hawk soaring through the air, on the hunt for prey.  I love to photograph them on the wing whenever possible.  But I take what I can get.  For example the Zone-tailed Hawk pictured here was perched in the rain, getting soaking wet.  That was the first one I had ever seen and that, of course, is the only photograph that I have, and I was lucky to get it, as it flew away seconds after I took the shot.  The Zone-tailed Hawk is often mistaken for a vulture because of it’s slouching posture when perching and it’s similar flying habits.

wet Zone-tailed Hawk

I have something new for my blog posts now.  When I am discussing subjects, such as  birds, animals, flowers, etc., I can assign a link, if one is available, to them as in the paragraph above.  If you click on any of those links, they will take to you to more in-depth articles.  So today I am going to show you some of my hawk photographs. 

First up is a Red-shouldered Hawk that I photographed at the Hummer House near Christoval, Texas.  Dan Brown, the owner, had put some meat out for it, and after devouring it, the bird perched in the tree.

Red-shouldered Hawk

 The following is a Northern Harrier that I photographed at San Angelo StatePark.  It was doing it’s usual thing, of flying low over the mesquite and brush.  Again it didn’t come close enough to me to get a great picture, but the image that I did get shows the distinct white wide stripe on the lower back and tail.

Northern Harrier

The Cooper’s Hawk and Sharp-shinned Hawk are very similar in appearance except that the Coopers is about 5 inches taller.  Other than that, they both are long-tailed and short-winged, and are agile in maneuvering to catch their prey. These two photos were both taken at San Angelo State Park.

Sharp-shinned Hawk

Cooper's Hawk

One of the larger buteo hawks is the Swainson’s Hawk.  This one was perched on the cross-bar of a utility pole outside the entrance to San Angelo State Park.

Swainson's Hawk

The buteo to which all other hawks are compared is the Red-tailed Hawk.  Similar in size to the Swainson’s hawk but very conspicuous with the red tail.  This is one that I was lucky enough to catch in flight, and one of my personal favorites.

Red-tailed Hawk

I hope you have enjoyed todays photos.  Click on any image to see an enlargement.

4 thoughts on “Hawks, Hawks, Hawks!

  1. HI there, your photographs are indeed, as usual, terrific and so is your new “linking” function. It’s just super to be able to view your photo then, with just a click, jump over to learn more. Well done Bobster!!! 🙂

    • Hi, Deb,
      Thanks for the great comments. I somehow knew that you would approve. 🙂

      Actually, the linking function is a new thingee provided by WordPress. It’s called “Zemanta”.

      The photos I used in this post were for illustration mainly. A couple of those aren’t good enough to exhibit anywhere, but they were the only images that I had on file.

  2. Thanks, photographyfree4all. I wish I knew your first name, I would address you with that. I love shooting (photographically) hawks. Those predators are so majestic. Of course, the enviironment doesn’t always make for great photographs. I can’t pose the birds, just take the picture as presented. I have several in-flight shots in my photo album. You can now see them by clicking the link. Thanks again for visiting my blog and for the nice comments.

Leave a Reply

