Roseate Spoonbills still here!


Persistence can sometimes pay off.  After doing my regular chores at San Angelo State Park this morning, I got to thinking, “What if those Roseate Spoonbills are still around?”  Ann and I decided to go back and check and see.  Sure enough, we were rewarded.  We spotted them on a little spit of sand much closer than before.

I still had to use the 2x converter on my lens, and so back to manual focusing.  Not my favorite thing to do at those distances.  But however, I did come up with a much better image that before.  Take a look.

Roseate Spoonbills

4 thoughts on “Roseate Spoonbills still here!

  1. Yes, they are usually found along th gulf coast. However, on rare occasions, a few may venture inland in late summer. These two, according to the park ranger, were the first ever seen there. We are about 400+ miles from the gulf coast. I had never seen one before.

Leave a Reply

