Persistency equals great photos!


You probably remember that for the past ten days, I have been stalking a couple of Roseate Spoonbills that arrived here recently from the gulf coast.  They have been hanging around O. C. Fisher lake, but usually so far out that it was difficult to come up with great images.

But this morning, we found a spot where I could get the best photo yet.  No more crawling, mucking thru mud, mesquite brush and shoulder high weeds, trying to avoid critters like rattle snakes and bobcats.  This place required just a 500 yard hike along the shoreline.  Ann carried my tripod and I lugged the big 500mm with a 1.4 tele-converter.

The Roseate Spoonbills were about 100 yards off shore on a little spit of dirt and gravel about 30 feet wide.  Keeping company with them was a magnificent Great Blue Heron.  With my lens a working 700mm I was practically able to fill the frame.  For all three photos I had the ISO at 400, F16, at 1,250th of a second, minus 1/3 EV.

I hope you enjoy the photos as much as I enjoyed taking the shots.  Click on either image for an enlargement.

Roseate Spoonbills and Great Blue Heron

 

Roseate Spoonbills and Great Blue Heron

Roseate Spoonbill and Great Blue Heron

19 thoughts on “Persistency equals great photos!

  1. Hi Bob! I just popped over here from Photographyfree4all! I’ve been happily shooting photographs for a long time, but I am new to the world of DSLR – just bought my first, a Canon EOS Rebel. Its always nice to find other Canon users, and I look to experienced folks such as yourself for ways to improve. I just featured a post over at my blog a couple days ago about a great blue heron! I’ll come back to your blog to see what is going on! Thanks for sharing.

    • Hi Karma,

      Glad you “popped over”. I just checked your blog, and I see that you love the shorebirds also. The little Snowy Plovers are definitely cute. That ten looks very similar to one I photographed a few months ago around here. I think it may be a Black Tern. But not 100% sure.

      You’ll love your Canon Rebel. I started with a Rebel many years ago, but gradually moved up. I have two 7D’s now. And, if you checked my Equipment page, you’d notice that I’ve got a fortune tied up in lenses. But they are slowly paying for themselves.

      Those are great photo that you have, by the way.

      If I can answer any questions pertaining to your Rebel just give a holler.

      Bob Zeller

    • Thanks. I am determined, but also impatient. I get very disappointed if I can’t get the best shot the first time around. I’ve avoided the rattlesnakes so far. There are plenty of them around here so a person really has to be on the alert.

    • Thanks for all the kind words. I just finished adding a new spoonbill photo to my birds album, if you want to have a look. They are with the herons and egrets. I want to have a look at your photos again on your site. I saw them earlier today, but didn’t have time to really study them. But what I saw briefly really impressed. me.
      Bob

  2. Great shots, Bob! I love that you share all the details, too. I’m not sure we realize how amazing these shots are based on how far away you were. When I enlarged, it was as if I was right there! Thanks for posting these.

    • Thanks. That big lens makes the job easier. I practically had to mortgage the house to buy it, but it was worth every penny. I like tp post the details of the exposure, etc. Maybe it can be of help to someone else. Besides, I like to brag. 🙂

  3. Great shots, Bob! Your knowledge of birds is quite impressive. If I keep a log of all the birds I see, I write down the names of those I know. The ones I don’t know, I just write down a general description and search the internet and match my notes to a photo. That’s way too much work and probably not very accurate. I appreciate the time and effort you put into learning all that stuff.

    Toby

    • Thanks, Toby. I only started this birding thing about two years ago. I saw some finches outside the window at a friend;s house, and on a whim I took some photos. I got hooked on photographing birds after that, so then obviously I needed to identify them. And it went from there. But I am far from being any kind of an expert. As of now, my “life list” is at 205. The real experts have lists 400 or 500 or more. But I am having a blast. My goal, of course, is not only to add to my list, but to photograph each one also.
      Bob

Leave a Reply

