Rufous Hummingbirds


Starting a new week a day late, since Labor Day was a day for just doing nothing.  Tried watching the Texas Rangers baseball game, but they didn’t do well, so I took a nap.  That’s what us senior type people do on holidays. 🙂

I haven’t come up with anything new in my photographs in the last few days.  I tried to take some images of the bird blind for a future blog post.  I wasn’t too satisfied with my results so I will go back at another time.  Does any one know of a good photographer. 🙂

But Tom Camfield who lives over near the O. C. Fisher Dam and Concho River, had a nice visitor for about three days.  A Rufous Hummingbird.  When he sent me the photos, I had to ask him to ID them for me.  I’m afraid I need to get a little more educated about hummingbirds.  With his permission, I am publishing them here.  Click on any photo to see a nice enlargement.  Enjoy.

Rufous Hummingbird

 

Rufous Hummingbird

Rufous Hummingbird

 

Rufous Hummingbird

 In other news, Ann and I looked for the Roseate Spoonbills this morning, but they were nowhere to be found.  Maybe they decided to leave before the coming storm gets here.  We did still see a couple of Great Blue Herons.  Also, the lake level must have dropped another couple of inches, because we saw another islet being “born”.

So Happy Birding.  Migration is coming soon!

8 thoughts on “Rufous Hummingbirds

    • I learned birding out of necessity when I took some bird photos that I couldn’t identify. What great fun it is. If you ever try it, you’ll get hooked. And I hear that there are some great beautiful birds in South America.

      Bob

  1. Hey! Bob,
    Great pictures! Don’t know if you had time to check out my new website but this is the link http://www.jenningswildlifephotography.com I even have a new blog and it’s on my website. I just placed a order this morning at wolfcamera.com I ordered the eos reble t2i with video. The order just been shipped out so should be recieving it in couple of days. Can’t wait to get it to play with it while I’m watching the little hummers. I tried going to your website this morning but all I get is your photo album. Anyway getting anxious for the eagles to return. I am planning on doing some work up in your area maybe we can get together and go do some photographin. Guess I talk to you laters. Terry

  2. I had a little friend like that hummer in the photo many years ago in Colorado. I got them so used to me that occasionally one of the little buggers would land on my finger! They had no problem at all feeding when I held the feeder by hand. Great memories. Thanks Bob and Tom.

    Toby

    PS. Bob…here’s a link to a birding festival going on soon in Rockport, Texas. I thought you might enjoy looking it over. http://www.rockporthummingbird.com/

    • Thanks for writing, Toby. Tom gave me something to write about today. I think I had writers block before he sent the pictures. However, I see that you never seem to have that problem. I absolutely get a hoot out of all the stuff you find to write about.

      But I guess that’s why I’m a photographer and you’re a writer.

      Bob

Leave a Reply

