Porcupines in trees, Peregrine Falcons aloft


A little excitement for Ann and I.  First we came across a Porcupine in a mesquite tree.  It was a little sleepy-eyed.  I worked around it for about half an hour trying to find a point whereas I could focus through the tree branches.  There was pretty dense brush.  I picked a spot where I could see a little between some branches, and where I wouldn’t have to be bothered with a pesky Diamondback Rattlesnake crawling on my feet.  I tried hand-holding my 100-400mm lens but then opted to just set up my 500mm on a tripod.  The first picture is the one I got this morning, looking at it head-on.  The second photo is one I shot about one year ago.  A much easier photograph to get.

Porcupine

Porcupine

 After spending time there, we loaded up and headed around near the boat ramp to check on the Roseate Spoonbills.  All three of them are still hanging around.  While there, we spotted a Peregrine Falcon, and possibly another.  It was racing all over the lake, from one end to the other, harrassing other birds, and hunting.  At one point, an American Kestrel took after it and we had a little “dogfight” until one or both gave up and they broke it off.

On the way out of the park we saw this beautiful Scissor-tailed Flycatcher.  Click on any photo to see an enlargement.  Enjoy.

Scissor-tailed Flycatcher

12 thoughts on “Porcupines in trees, Peregrine Falcons aloft

    • Well, let’s see. The fall migration will begin in a few weeks, so I am looking forward to photographing some new avian species. I’m also going on a one week trip to the Big Bend area in early October. The variety of birds are much different than here. Then of course, I’m always looking forward to getting good images of the mountains and canyons in that area also. But as far as a definite focus, heck, I just want to come back with new photos and new stories to tell. 🙂

      Gracias, senor,
      Bob

    • They’re a little more than pesky. They are probably one of the most dangerous rattlesnake in the southwest. But usually they will scoot away if they sense you, but if they have nowhere to go, they are deadly. I really need to be more careful, but……………….

  1. Good work on the Porcupine, Bob. I’ve seen them out the park once or twice but never had any luck making an image.

    As to the scissor-tailed… Wow, the coloration on that one is unique. Good catches on both.

    -jim

    • I believe they only climb trees to sleep. They’re usually on the ground by mid-morning. They are vegetarians and move pretty slow. One thing, if you get close enough to pet them, and I have, don’t move your hand against the “grain”. 🙂

Leave a Reply

