Blue Jays and More


We have had several Blue Jays (Cyanocitta cristata) hanging around our neighborhood lately.  For a while I thought it was the Northern Mockingbird that loves to tease me in my backyard.  They, the jays, can sure cause a ruckus, though.  I finally got a photo in my back yard.  The first one below.   

Blue Jay

This Western Scrub Jay (Aphelocoma coerulescens) was photographed at the Cedar Gap Farm wild bird viewing area.  It is a little north of Tuscola, Texas.  For some reason or other, we in San Angelo, don’t see many scrub jays.   

Western Scrub Jay

The Mexican Jay (Aphelocoma ultramarina)  is indigenous in the United States only to the Chisos Mountains of Big Bend National Park.  It, like the scrub jay, does not have the familiar crest  A good spot to find them is the Lost Mine Trail there.  That is where I made this photograph several years when I was still shooting on film.   

Mexican Jay

Speaking of Big Bend National Park, Ann, Jodie, and I are leaving Sunday morning for that area.  Our first stop is Marfa, Texas where we hope to see the mysterious Marfa Lights.  Quite a phenomena that no one can explain.  While there we may be able to make a quick run about 20 miles north of there and catch some birds at the Davis Mountains State Park.   

On Monday morning we will head for Lajitas, but will  take a long route down through Pinto Canyon, up around Chinati Peak to the little village of Ruidosa.  Population about 50.  From there we will head back eastward to Presidio, then down the spectacular river road along the Rio Grande, and into the resort of Lajitas.  We will be spending four nights there, using it as a base for daytrips to Big Bend Ranch State Park, and Big Bend National Park.  I hope to come home with some great photographs.

4 thoughts on “Blue Jays and More

  1. Great work, as always, Bob! The first one belongs in a frame – the “expression” on his face is priceless, he’s looking at you like you’ve interrupted him, and he’s saying, “What DO you want?!”

    • Thanks, Holly,

      I apologixe. I thought i had replyed to your comment, but I just discovered I must have had a senior moment. 🙂 I have decided to frame the first one. I printed a 12×16 and It turned out great. I will frame and show it at an art showing that I have coming up. If it doesn’t sell, it will be on my wall. Which isn’t a bad thing. Thanks for your kind words.

      Bob

Leave a Reply

