Back from the Big Bend, Part I


We finally got back home yesterday evening from the Big Bend area of the great state of Texas.  We traveled a total of about 1,100 miles and took around 500 images, most of what will end up in the proverbial round file.  But what great fun, so many margaritas, so little time. 🙂

This morning we had to lead our monthly adult birding tour at the San Angelo State Park.  Fewer birds than usual, but we met great new people.  Two of them were Tom and Judy Gargis from Fort Worth, Texas.  We first met them along the trails at Big Bend National Park before they were leaving for home.  Co-incidentally they were making a lay-over here at San Angelo State Park before heading for the metroplex.  Small world.

I have obviously a task ahead of me to edit a lot of images.  But first I wanted to post a few that I edited last night before turning in for some rest.  I spotted this North American Bobcat, also known as a red lynx or wild cat,  near the empty Rio Grand Village RV camping area.  He wandered out of the brush and decided to take a breather beneath a tree.  Fortunately, for me, he decided to rest several minutes, allowing me to get several exposures.  I had attached my Canon 100-400mm zoom lens to my Canon EOS 7D, and took the pictures hand-held from my van window.  Click any image to see an enlargement.

Bobcat

Bobcat

We spotted this Sharp-shinned Hawk in a tree about 30 yards off the highway in Big Bend National Park.  I parked up the highway and walked back silently to get this image with the same camera set-up as above for the bobcat.

Sharp-shinned Hawk

And last, but certainly not least, I have to include this photo of a Horned Lizard, more familiarly known as a Horned Toad, or Horny Toad.  I took this image this morning at San Angelo State Park.  This is the first one that I have seen in about 10 years.  They have been becoming scarce due to the increasing amounts of fire-ants in the state.  So I was pleasantly to see that there are still a few survivors.  This one was on the roadway, so after photographing it, I made sure that it scurried off the highway into nearby deeper grass.

Horned Toad

11 thoughts on “Back from the Big Bend, Part I

    • Thanks again, Cindy,

      I had a lot of fun with these pictures, as I do with all animal and bird photos. I can’t say the same about my scenics in Part II. They seem to lack something, that I can’t put my finger on. My scenics and landscapes are from the quality that yours are. I need to stick to what I know best, I guess. The beasts and the birds. 🙂

      Bob

  1. I’m from the Convention and Visitors Bureau in San Angelo…I really like reading what you wrote about our State Park. Did you get a chance to make it around our city? Grab some grub?? I hope you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to having you and other folks back. Should you need anything, please let me know.
    Thanks
    Kimberly

  2. Nice set of catches, Bob. I still have not seen a Horned Toad in person. Hopefully this coming summer when I get back to Texas I can knock that off my bucket list. Glad to see that you’re back safe & sound and can’t wait to see the rest of the fruits of your labor.

  3. Thanks, Toby,

    I am going through all my images so I’ll be posting more during the next week. I also have to get caught up on reading all your Texas music stories. By the way, that is the West Texas Music Hall of Fame that I am in. Not the Rock and Roll hall. This is something new to me, I’m not the hall of fame type. But there is a book in the printing about it, so I will pass judgement after I see it.

    Now, if I can just find a good margarita recipe! 🙂

    Bob

  4. Looks and sounds as like y’all had a great trip. Superb photos! I haven’t seen a horny toad in a million years, so I really love that pic! I look forward to seeing more of the Big Bend.

    Toby

Leave a Reply

