Another one for the life list……


Back in the spring, I think I had 187 birds on my life list, and I remember saying that I wanted to make 200 by the end of the year.  Being the novice that I am, I thought that was a reasonable goal.  Well, heck, today I registered number 214.  Gee whiz, and there are still two months to go.

Ann and I were able to spend an extra few hours at O. C. Fisher Lake this morning.  We have been busy with some other tasks so our birding was put on the back burner for a few days. 

Anyway, at the boat ramp I had set up my camera with the 500mm lens on it.  Ann had her spotting scope on her tripod.  She looked at an adjacent shoreline and exclaimed that she had spotted a Black-bellied Whistling Duck.  It was pretty far away.  I could see a bit of it through my camera lens, so I tried to get an image.  After bringing it home, and downloading it to the computer, then looking at Sibley’s book, I found that it was a Greater White-fronted Goose (Anser albifrons).  Here is the photograph, taken from about a quarter-mile away.

Greater White-fronted Goose

In addition while we were there, we spotted winter migratory new comers Loggerhead Shrike (Lanius ludovicianus) and Eastern Meadowlark (Sturnella magna).

Loggerhead Shrike

Eastern Meadowlark

I hope you have enjoyed the photos.  Click on either one for an enlargement. 

Happy birding!

11 thoughts on “Another one for the life list……

  1. Great photos. Way to go with your goal…..Just makes one realize there is still lots of birds to find in our area.

  2. I do very much enjoy the photos and congratulate you on beating your goal! How marvelous that you can identify a bird from a quarter-mile! I’ve been remiss in commenting for some time – so busy with ‘real life’, I haven’t taken the time I’d like to visit. But I have been watching and very much enjoying your adventures in nature.
    Cindy

    • Hi Cindy,

      You’re giving me far too much credit. The bird was probably a quarter-mile away, but I couldn’t really identify it until I was able to get the image into my computer so I could magnify it. Until I did that I was in agreement with Ann that it was Black-bellied Whistling Duck. But many thanks anyway. 🙂 I am glad that you are still watching and enjoying.

      Bob

Leave a Reply

