Bell’s Vireo (Vireo bellii)


We got a little serious birding in this morning at San Angelo State Park.  Saw twenty-two species.  Highlights were the Bell’s Vireo (Vireo bellii) .  I got a few good images of it, even though it kept itself in the branches of a tree.  There were several hundred American White Pelicans on O. C. Fisher Lake.  We saw six Loggerhead Shrikes out there, plus the Meadowlarks are arriving.  We also saw a Belted Kingfisher near the Wells-Fargo bank, near Southwest Blvd and Loop 306. 

Here are a couple of images of the Bell’s Vireo.  These were photographed with my Canon 7d and Canon 100-400mm lens.  Click on either one for an enlargement. 

Bell's Vireo

Bell's Vireo

Happy Birding!!

3 thoughts on “Bell’s Vireo (Vireo bellii)

  1. Bob…I am a bit jealous in the Birding Dept. You guys have so many types of birds year round, plus the many that migrate through your area. We have quite a few different types here that migrate our way in late spring and early summer. My favorites thus far in my 4 + years in Maine are the “Baltimore” Oriole and the American Goldfinch. As I type this, i just saw on my bird feeder a blue jay and the State Bird of Maine, the Chickadee. Until next spring, when the grackles arrive by the millions, that’s pretty much what we’ll see up here, besides seagulls, crows and cardinals. I just noticed that my feeder is low. Take care my friend.

    Toby

    • Toby,
      We have an official total of 356 birds that can be seen here in the Concho Valley, depending on the time of the year. And believe it or not, there are more here in winter than there are in summer. I guess they can’t stand the heat.

Leave a Reply

