Bell’s Vireos – CORRECTION


Reference my previous post Bell’s Vireos.  Forget everything you ever read there.  Sue Oliver contacted me and brought it to my attention that it is an Orange-crowned Warbler (Vermivora celata).  After she pointed it out and I compared them in my Sibley’s guide, I could easily see the differences.

So again for your immense enjoyment, here again are the photos of the Orange-crowned Warbler.

Orange-crowned Warbler

Orange-crowned Warbler

Happy Birding!!

3 thoughts on “Bell’s Vireos – CORRECTION

  1. I agree with Cindy, if I had just jumped posts I would have missed this 🙂 I not too long a go commented on the previous one 🙂 Still, identifying birds can’t be easy, so I guess that even experts will err from time to time… Surely no one knows ALL the species worldwide 🙂 Keep at it Bob!

  2. I was thinking that I should catch up in posting order, but maybe it’s just as well I didn’t. 🙂 I think it’s pretty impressive that your identification can be challenged from your photos. It speaks to the quality of the photos, don’t you think?

    • Thank you. Cindy,

      I really should have checked a little closer. But, I am a novice so it can be expected that I err part of the time. But birding and learning to identify the birds is so darned much fun. Sue Oliver is a very good friend of mine, and one of the best birders in the area. She has taught me a lot. After she pointed out the differences, I could see that she was definitely right. My problem was that I was thinking Vireos, and had not considered that it might be a Warbler. If I had, I might have made a different ID.

      Thank you, Cindy, for trying to keep up with my posts. 🙂

Leave a Reply

