Love those Hawks


I have this love of hawks and other raptors, regardless of the species.  I was riding around yesterday and spotted the top two birds.  The first is an American Kestrel. They are a cute but ferocious little bird.   He was perched in the top of a tree.  I hand-held my Canon 7D with a 500mm lens and 1.4 teleconverter attached.  Exposure information,1/1600 sec at f7.1, ISO 100.

American Kestrel

Later, out by O. C. Fisher Lake we saw this Red-Tailed Hawk sitting atop a sign.  I am especially fond of this image, as he was posed so naturally and I was relatively close to him.  Canon 7D with Canon 100-400mm lens, 1/1600 sec. at f6.3, ISO 150, -1/3 EV.

Red-tailed Hawk - jevenile

This Osprey was photographed two years ago near Lake Nasworthy, here in San Angelo.  There will be a story about this photograph this coming Thursday, as the Osprey will be the subject of my Bird of The Week series.  Watch for it. 

Osprey with catch

The all photos were edited in Photoshop Elements, but with the first two I also used Focus Magic, and Topaz DeNoise, and OnOne PhotoTune.  Three very good plug-ins.  Click on any image to see an enlargment.  Enjoy.

Happy Birding!!

8 thoughts on “Love those Hawks

  1. Excellent shots! I also love birds of prey, they can have such amazing presence in the sky, even the smaller ones…
    I like the osprey shot in particular: Looks great with the water and the fish in its talons.

  2. The raptors truly are in a class of their own, aren’t they? They are a symbol of strength and independance that is truly inspiring. These are all wonderful images, but just look at the power in the osprey’s wings, the strength and skill illustrated by its burden. I will look forward to Thursday’s post, although I’m not promising to make it on time! 🙂

    • Indeed they are in a separate class. I could spend hours watching and photographing them. Thanks for the kind words.

      Cindy, If you don’t make it on time, it will still be there when you can.

      Bob

  3. Honestly, both of us are so taken by the beauty of your images. Your birds really are stunning!

    And yep. You need one of these thingees. 🙂

    Later tater

    • You saying that really means a lot to me. And I know that Paul likes Hawk pictures.

      Maybe later on that thingee, if you’ll come down and help me set it up. 🙂

      Bob

      Aside to my readers. Deb is a dear friend of mine, and she is an awesome photographer. Check out her gorgeous images by clicking on D.S.Tappan Photography on my blogroll.

  4. Incredible photos Bobster!! They photos look marvelous on our big tv! (wink, wink)

    Happy Thanksgiving with hugs to you and Ann!

    • Wow, Deb, thanks for the great compliment. Are you trying to say that I should have bought one of those toys. It definitely has it’s merits.

      Happy Thanksgiving to you guys, too, and hugs back at ya. 🙂

      Bob

Leave a Reply

