Eagles, Vermilion Flycatcher – editing


For lack of anything else to do this cool Sunday afternoon, I decided to go through some very old images that I almost threw away.  Fortunately, I keep almost all the bad stuff, in hopes that sometime I can obtain the right software to maybe make something out of them.  You know, make lemonade out of lemons.

Here are three examples.  The first is a Vermilion Flycatcher that I photographed a few years back, with one of my older cameras.  The bird was so far away, I could hardly get him in my view finder.  I was using my 500mm lens with a 1.4 converter.  The first is the original, the second is a new edited image.  I first ran the original through my Image Focus software, then thru Topaz DeNoise to remove any noise.  I then cropped it as shown, done a little more sharpening.  I doesn’t look too bad.

Vermilion Flycatcher - original

Vermilion Flycatcher - edited

The second photo is a Bald Eagle, taken down at a nest near Llano, Texas.  In this case, I used my 500mm lens as usual, but I also had to use my 2x converter because it was very, very far away.  The problem is that when using my 2x converter, my auto-focus is inoperative.  So having to manual focus I was quite lucky to get any image at all.  As before, I used my Focus Magic software, my OnOne Phototune software, cropped then added sharpening..

Bald Eagle leaving nest - original

Bald Eagle leaving nest - edited

This third photograph is a juvenile Golden Eagle.  We were in Michigan visiting relatives.  My sister-in-law knew of this nest and took me over to the site.  He was about 65 feet off the ground, near the top of a large evergreen fir tree.  I had to set up on a little knoll about 150 feet away from the base of the tree to get an angle on the nest.  In this case I used my 1.4 converter on my 500mm lens.  I first used my Focus Magic again, then the OnOne Phototune software.  After cropping and playing with the lights and shadows, then sharpening I came out with the final image. 

Golden Eagle off the nest - original

Golden Eagle off the nest - edited

I hope you like the images and you may click on any of them to see an enlargement.  Both Focus Magic and Topaz Denoise are available on-line at pretty reasonalbe prices.  That also goes for OnOne’s Phototune.  That software, by the way, has nothing to do with music.  I believe they all have trial versions.

Happy birding!!

6 thoughts on “Eagles, Vermilion Flycatcher – editing

    • Those birds are very tiny, and very difficult to photograph, because it is also difficult to get close to. And of course, on top of everything else, they are flighty and don’t sit in one place very long. I feel fortunate to get what I did.

      Thanks for the kind words.

      Bob

  1. Hi Bob we get the flycatchers down here in AZ but I don’t see any eagles…you are so lucky.

    I use a 20 – 300 mm for my bird photos…only wish I had a 400 mm prime. I have the same issue when I use my 1.5 converter with teh 70 – 200 mm the AF doesn’t work. I can use the 1.5 converter on my 28 -105 just fine go figure.

    Wonderful photos and I’m going to look up your sharpening software.

    • Thanks for the kind words. My favorite bird lens, of course, is my 500mm prime. But the most convenient is my 100-400mm zoom. I love to keep it on my lap when I am driving, so I have it handy.

      Bob

Leave a Reply

