More west Texas photographs


I am going to pass on doing a Bird of The Week feature until after holidays.  I have been fighting a cold for a few days and haven’t done any planning.  Instead, though, I think I will post a few more photos for you to see.  First up is one image that I captured early one morning in the Davis Mountains of west Texas.

Wild Rose Pass

This next one is a familiar sight out here in west Texas, where the plains are flat and windy.  In the winter those winds blow cold directly out of the north.  It is said that there is nothing between here and the Canadian border except a snow fence, and it is laying on the ground. 🙂

West Texas Skyline

Another type of windmill that is starting to appear in greeat numbers are the gigantic wind turbines.  They number in the thousands in far west Texas.

Wind Turbines

And, yes, there is sometimes snow in mountains of west Texas.  This blizzard hit while we were visiting in February of 2010.  Two days later the snow was gone.

Snow storm in the Chisos Mountains

I guess that will be all for today.  I must save a few for another time.

I hope you enjoy these photos of west Texas.  Click on any image to see an enlargement.

20 thoughts on “More west Texas photographs

    • Thanks, Maria. We did have a nice Christmas. I love that area in the Davis Mountains where that photo was taken. I usually don’t like to have highways, etc., in my photos, but in this case it added dimension to it.

      Bob

  1. I’m so glad to read that you are feeling better, Bob and I wish you the very best for a wonderful Christmas. These are beautiful photographs – amazing scenery. It really must feel like there is nothing for thousands of miles in that wide open space. I love the snow fence quip. And snow? in Texas? Who knew?! 🙂 Take care now.
    Cindy

    • What a very, very nice comment, Cindy. I am feeling better this morning, as is Ann. We’re both looking forward to a nice Christmas with friends. Thanks for the compliments on the photographs. It is true there are many areas of the western part of the state that it feels like you’re a thousand miles from any people, or any place. That’s ranch country, ranches that have thounds of acres, and hundreds of square miles. But then we also have the mountains like I have pictured, to escape to.

      We do get some snow on occasion here in San Angelo, but it is mainly a little dust and is gone in a few hours usually. The snowy mountains in my picture are in Big Bend National Park, but the other mountains of west Texas, Davis Mounains, Guadalupe Mountains all get snow at times during the winter. But again, it ususlly doesn’t stay long, like it does in the beautiful area where you live.

      Have a very Merry Christmas,
      Bob

  2. Don’t let the cold get you down Mr. Bob.

    I love the photos you posted, it’s been years since I was in Texas, I had a sister who used to live in Bay City….just a few miles north of Mexico.
    Had a couple friends from college who settled in Dallas, haven’t seen them in about 3 years now.

    Hopefully I can get down that way in late Spring next year.

    Raven

    • Thanks, Raven. I hope you can make the trip next year. I’ve never been to that part of the state. I think it’s over 400 miles from here. It’s amazing, I can travel that far in any direction and still be in Texas.

      Bob

  3. Merriest of Christmases to the Zellers from the Zieglers!

    Just think, in a little over a week I’ll be able to use the calendar.

    As always, love the photos. Keep ’em coming!

    Mike Z

  4. Just want to wish you guys a Merry Christmas. I have the next week off, so I can fit in a couple of bird counts. One on Monday and one on Saturday (the 1st). Take care and get over that cold.

  5. Hope you’re better in time for Christmas, B0b. I’m the same- sinus trouble and antibiotics! Have a great holiday. I love the Wild Rose Pass and Snow storm particularly!

    • Hi Chris,

      Glad you liked the photos. I am partial to these west Texas mountains. I’m feeling much better this afternoon and I expect to have a great Christmas. And Merry Christmas to you, too.

      Bob

Leave a Reply

