West Texas Happy New Year!


Here it is just a few hours left in the year.  I have been ‘outta pocket’ the last couple of days.  Getting end of year tax reports, bookkeeping, etc. to end the year.  But also doing a little birding, trying to get my annual bird count up.  I believe I saw 180 species, but was shooting for 200.  But a new year dawns.  Here are a couple of shots that I got yesterday I thought you might enjoy.

Mourning Dove

Ladder-backed Woodpecker

I want to wish all my readers, far and wide, the most joyous and Happy New Year.

10 thoughts on “West Texas Happy New Year!

  1. Love that woodpecker, the red color head is positioned perfectly, offering nice contrast and focal point, bringing the picture together nicely. Happy New Year, I’m looking forward to seeing more awesome photos throughout the year!

  2. Your depth of field is always so perfect, Bob. You always have the bird and what you need of its immediate surroundings so perfectly in focus, wish lovely soft background details. Both lovely images but I’m really drawn to the Mourning Dove.

    I love that you and Ann are happy as larks, whatever species they may be. 🙂 Keep on taking good care of each other and the world will continue to be a good place.

    • I like that Mourning Dove photo, too. They always have that innocent, peaceful look about them. Again, thank you so very, very much for all of your thoughtful words.

      As far as how I get the depth of field right, I try to watch my aperture, keeping it as far open as i can get away with and still get a sharp image. Then the soft backgrounds take care fo themselves. I also spot focus, putting that center focus point on the eyes. But, then I also get lucky once in a while, too. 🙂

      Bob

  3. Great shots, especially fond of the woodpecker. Too many cartoons as a kid I expect….! I reckon I’m doing well if I spot a dozen birds in one day – and half of those could be feral. Hopefully, as my garden grows and provides more habitat, that number could increase.
    Very best to you and Ann for 2011♥

  4. Pingback: Happy New Year! « Michaelwclark.com

  5. Thanks, Toby. The same to you and your bride. Ain’t livin’ great? 🙂 Ann and I are as happy as a lark, well, I should say a Meadowlark since that is what we see around. 🙂

    Bob

Leave a Reply

