Red-Tailed Hawk Begins 2011


Well, here we go again.  I got my sightings all tallied up to date.  My life list stands at 218.  In 2010 I and Ann saw and identified 181 different species.  As I mentioned in a previous post, our original goal was 200.  We came close and we should make it in 2011, as we are now a bit more esperienced.  I also want to get an accurate count of how many of my 218 life list that I have photographed.

Red-tailed Hawk

We missed a few local ones that we should have seen, but we are planning on making a few more longer trips around the state to get some from other areas.  That includes more visits to the Big Bend NP area, Davis Mountains State Park, the X-Bar ranch, then maybe a trip or two into central Texas.  Possibly a trip to the Gulf Coast.

As far as posting to my blog, I will continue to write posts as frequently as I can.  I should be able to include at least one photograph, but some may be older ones taken some time ago.  But, nevertheless, they will be new to you.  The above image of the Red-tailed Hawk, is another from the series that I took this past week.

You may have noticed that I have far fewer flags on my counter to the right.  I was fooling around, trying to tweak it a little, and I lost all my flags.  So I had to start all over.  So I need all of my friends from all over the world to comment on one of my posts, so I get my flags back.  I promise I won’t lose them again.  Fortunately, my ClusterMap still is up to date, so you can click there and see most of my overseas readers’ locations there.

Happy Birding!!

11 thoughts on “Red-Tailed Hawk Begins 2011

  1. 181 species? It’s 146 more than I have ever spotted in this corner of the world where I live. Of those many have not been seen for years like the Eastern Bluebird whose population fell to zero in 4 years.

    • In this area, known as the Concho River Valley, there 356 different species that can be seen, depending on which season. That includes plenty of Eastern Bluebirds. I’m sorry that you don’t have more of the avian variety. But I think you have some wonderful scenics and great wildlife.

      Bob

  2. Bob, first I wanted to wish you a Happy New Year. I hope 2011 is a wonderful year for you. 181 sightings is a major accomplishment and I look forward to seeing all that you capture in 2011. May your life be filled with peace, love, and good health …. Maria

  3. Great image Bob, really captures the essence of this fabulous bird. As to the flag counter, perhaps it’s about starting the year afresh:-)

    • Thanks, Enivea, it’s the same bird as in my “what another red-tailed…”, just a different image. I think I like this one the best. Good idea, about starting the new year fresh.

      Bob

  4. It is fun to watch the flags build up isn’t it. To think that we are making connections so far and wide boggles my mind. I’m sure you will have your flag list built back up in no time at all.

    I love this image – so detailed and so dynamic. The colours are wonderful. I’m looking forward to your further explorations in this new year.

    Cindy

    • Yes, it was fun watching to see how many countries were being represented. For me it was only keeping the latest 20, so I tried to change the original settings so all would be added, and that was where I went wrong. 🙂 I ended up having to get a new code.

      You are good for my ego, Cindy. I love your nice comments on my images.

      Bob

      • I see my flag counter is the same. I didn’t realize until I just now clicked on it that there could be 31 flags there. Did you figure out how you might have changed it without loosing your flags?

Leave a Reply

