Cooper’s Hawk


First I’d like mention that in the future, all, if any, of our bird counts will be listed at the bottom of my posts.  Also, I have decided to dispense with my Bird of the Week series, because I intend to put the desired information with photos that I post daily.

This is a photograph of a Cooper’s Hawk (Accipiter cooperii).  Ann and I were at the bird-blind at San Angelo State Park yesterday morning.  As we sat and watched, all of a sudden the birds that regularly visit left in a rush.  The reason was that the hawk had swooped in.  He lit in the tree branch, hopefully to catch a meal.  After finding that the birds were in hiding, he eventually flew off, but not before I was able to get a few photos.  I hope you like it.  Click on it for an enlargement.

Cooper's Hawk

Sibley’s describes this hawk as a medium-size accipiter with a relatively large head, long tail and holds wings straight when soaring.  They and the Sharp-shinned Hawk (Accipiter striatus) are similar to the Northern Goshawk Accipiter gentillis) in shape, habits, and plummage.  Northern Goshawks are not usually found in the Concho Valley.  All are agile when pursuing small birds through trees and bushes.  I identified this as a Cooper’s because of the flatter  head and thinner streaks on the breast.

We were only able to spend an hour at the San Angelo State Park bird-blind this morning.  Because of that our bird count that follows is a bit shorter.  Only 14 species.   Just the usual suspects today.  Still waiting and hoping for some Pine Siskins to make an appearance.

Tuesday January 4, 2011 – Total species  14 

White-winged Dove     6
Mourning Dove     2
Black-crested Titmouse     2
Northern Mockingbird     7
Curve-billed Thrasher     2
Spotted Towhee     1
Canyon Towhee     2
White-crowned Sparrow     12
Northern Cardinal     8
Pyrrhuloxia     6
Red-winged Blackbird     100
Western Meadowlark     8
House Finch     12
House Sparrow     2

Happy Birding!!

9 thoughts on “Cooper’s Hawk

  1. Nice work, Bob. You grabbed that one very well It was nice to see you and Ann at the blind. I still haven’t pulled my images from the cards–just arrived back in Dayton a couple of hours ago.

    Warm regards – jim

  2. I was browsing some photography blogs this morning and saw this shot. I immediately said, That’s a Bob Zeller shot! And sure enough – it was! I had to come back to leave a comment because I was in a hurry before – lunch was calling me. 🙂 This is a great shot, Bob! Maybe it will make the cut for next year’s January?? Great job!

  3. Nice photo…we had a cooper’s hawk issue last night. The cooper’s was caught between my butterfly bush and the chickenwire cage around the bush. I thought it was a rabbit and then looked closer and saw it was the hawk.

    My hubby got some wire cutter and cut the chickenwire so he could pull the hawk out. The hawk’s bill was all bloody from trying to cut the chickenwire. Hubby but the hawk on the ground and he just laid there for a few second then took off for the elm tree. I don’t know if it was a young hawk or the one that is here all the time….as it looked so small.

    I’m going to do a post with some photos I took of the hawk.

Leave a Reply

