American Kestrel with Happy Meal


Ann and I made a trip out to San Angelo State Park late Saturday morning.  There we met another professional photographer, Bill Plunkett.  He and his wife have been doing some very extensive traveling and stopped off here in San Angelo.  For examples of his work from all over the continent and more, check his website, www.plunkettphoto.com

I got lucky again.  While driving around the park, we didn’t see much bird activity until we came upon this dead tree near O. C. Fisher Lake.  There was this American Kestrel perched, trying to devour a mouse that he had caught.  I was fortunate to capture the action before he flew away.

American Kestrel with mouse

I hope you enjoy the photo.  Click on it to see an enlargement.

Happy Birding!!

14 thoughts on “American Kestrel with Happy Meal

    • Thanks, Barb. I guess I am at the right place at the right time. I do have state of the art equipment; long lens, solid tripod, etc. However, on that particular shot, instead of a tripod, I hand-held my Canon 7D with a 500mm lens, out the window of the van. Thanks for commenting.

      Bob

  1. Bob –

    Thanks for stopping by my blog the other day! Your wildlife photography is stunning. We’re transplanted to MI (almost 2 years ago) and we love it so much! I bet you & your wife miss it here (but maybe you don’t miss the snow? 🙂 ).

    Best,

    Jen

    • Hi Jen, thanks so much for the kind words on my photography. No, we really don’t miss the snow. We both grew up in it and now we are happy without it. However, we did get an inch or so a couple of days ago and it hanged around long enough that I could get some cute bird pictures. I will subscribe to your blog so we can keep with what’s happening up there.

      Bob

  2. Great capture Bob! I had a bird land on a fence post by my house and spend ten minutes eating, but it was raining at the end of the day and the light so poor I couldn’t get any decent photos. Carryout Carion must be here too!

Leave a Reply

