Red-tailed Hawk and Birding results


First, I want to say that this may be my last post for about a week.  Ann, Jodie Wolslager and I are heading for New Mexico to visit some birding and wildlife areas there.  I hope to come back with some nice photos and new experiences to tell you about.

This morning we had our monthly Adult Birding Adventure at San Angelo State Park.  We had one of the largest participant turn-outs ever.  However, the bird activity left a little to be desired.  Plenty activity at the bird blind though.  By Ann’s count we had a grand total of 29 species.  Not bad for an off-day.  A total list appears at the bottom of this post.

Red-tailed Hawk

In keeping with my habit of including a photograph with each post, I submit this in-flight image of a Red-tailed Hawk, from my archives.  Did I ever tell you that I love to photograph raptors??  Click on the photo to see an enlargement.

By the way, I am overwhelmed by the comments to Holly’s Blog about in-flight photography, referring to the advice and tips that I gave her.  See   http://photobyholly.wordpress.com/2011/02/11/in-flight/    I thank one and all  for reading the tips.  I only hope that every one has good results from them.  I do need to clarify one thing.  My tips were based on my own experience with a Canon DSLR.  I remember that Holly shoots a Nikon, but I think that most DSLRs have a tracking type of auto-focus.

Happy birding and picture taking!!  🙂

Location:     San Angelo State Park
Observation date:     2/12/11
Number of species:     29

Mallard     3
Blue-winged Teal     20
Northern Shoveler     18
American White Pelican     12
Great Blue Heron     2
Black Vulture     6
Turkey Vulture     3
Red-tailed Hawk     1
American Coot     2
Killdeer     2
Greater Yellowlegs     3
Least Sandpiper     10
Ring-billed Gull     100
White-winged Dove     2
Mourning Dove     4
Ladder-backed Woodpecker     2
Black-crested Titmouse     2
Rock Wren     1
Bewick’s Wren     1
Northern Mockingbird     6
Curve-billed Thrasher     1
Canyon Towhee     1
White-crowned Sparrow     24
Northern Cardinal     6
Pyrrhuloxia     4
Red-winged Blackbird     12
Western Meadowlark     10
House Finch     18
House Sparrow     6

This report was generated automatically by eBird v2(http://ebird.org)

13 thoughts on “Red-tailed Hawk and Birding results

  1. Another great photo! We have many red-tailed hawks in Virginia, and some in my suburban neighborhood. I have seen them capture squirrels in my backyard and slowly devour them while all the neighborhood birds gathered round to jeer at and announce the violation to the world.

    I hope you find lots of sandhill cranes on your adventure. They are amazing.

  2. Are you sure you will be able to resist the temptation to pop in a post from your laptop on the hotel’s wireless? ;)I do hope you do have a enjoyable and fruitful week. I’m looking forward to some great new pictures like this amazing action capture when you get back.

    • I don’t know, Cindy. I will have my laptop, and I may be tempted. I do know that I have a tendency to get escited and want to want to share that excitement. No promises….. 🙂

      Bob

    • Thanks Raven. We will be staying at the Dream Catcher Inn in Las Cruces. Our primary target is the Bosque Del Apache National Wilddlife Refuge near Socorro, New Mesico. We’re leaving Tuesday morning and will return Friday.

      Bob

  3. Bob…I hope you guys and gals have a productive and safe trip to the Land of Enchantment. I look forward to the great photos I’m sure you’ll bring back with you. Vaya con Dios, amigo.

    Adios,
    Toby

Leave a Reply

