Bosque Del Apache Trip – Part II


The Bosque Del Apache National Wildlife Refuge consists of open fields, copses of trees, and several large lagoons or ponds.  Also included is a board-walk over one watery acre where there are reeds and water birds.  But the main part is the 12-mile driving tour that goes through and around these areas.  You may take your time and do it at your own pace.  You may stop anywhere you desire.  All you have to do is pull to the side of the road.  There are also many permanent viewing areas placed along the drive.  At the visitors center you can use the blinds and cactus gardens to see quail and other birds and small wildlife.  Rather than bore you with a lot of narrative. I will show some more images that I captured there.

But before I do that, I want to relate one our most thrilling experiences.  As we were doing the driving tour, we came upon this large lagoon that was filled with several species of ducks.  I spotted with my naked eye what I at first thought was a rather large white breasted duck.  Then through my binoculars, I realized that it was a hawk trying to sink it’s claws into a Northern Shoveler.  I figured that I might have as much as a minute to grab my 500mm and the tripod.  But just I reached for them, a beautiful Bald Eagle swooped down, snatched the duck from the hawk, and flew away.  An awesome image that I regretted that I wasn’t able to capture.

Gambel's Quail in tree

Cactus Wren

Black-throated Sparrow perched on Cholla

A young Western Meadowlark

Merlin in the brush

Sandhill Cranes in afternoon sun

So those were some of the highlights of the trip photographically, that is.  While in Las Cruces we enjoyed the fine Mexican food that can be found there.  However, a trip by Bob Zeller must have a dramatic ending, shouldn’t it.  After dining at La Posta restaurant in Old Mesilla, I stepped off the curb.  Then after seeing an automobile approaching, I stepped back up on the curb, slipped, fell and badly abraised my arm and hand.  So a trip to Walgreen’s drug store, for bandages, etc. ensued, followed by going back to our room to get cleaned up.  No broken bones, fortunately, but it will be several days before my arm and hand will be without bandages.

Organ Mountains, Las Cruces, New Mexico

Happy Birding!!

24 thoughts on “Bosque Del Apache Trip – Part II

    • Thanks, Linda. We certainly did enjoy the trip, and hope to make a return trip in the future. About the fall, heck, I just need to cut back on those margaritas. 🙂

  1. Beautiful photographs Bob, as always! What a gorgeous place to visit and that Meadowlark – what pretty color and that Quail is so interesting – I have never seen such a bird. Hope your arm heals fast – and it is not your main shooting hand.

  2. Beautiful photos..I am wildlife artist originally from Arizona and you have captured the Gambel’s Quail as I remember and my favorite Cactus Wren..they are fabulous birds and really people friendly..had one that lived on deck in Arizona..thanks for sharing..

  3. Great shots Bob, you certainly got some good ones one the trip, those “missed shots” always seem to live on in our memory. Sorry to hear about your accident, it might well have been the Chile-Rita that caused it 🙂
    That Organ Mountain pic is captivating, I think I could spend weeks in that area!

  4. Love the one of the Meadowlark, great tones! You painted a good picture of the drama of the hunting birds, making up for the lack of photo. Terribly sorry to read of your mishap:-( Best wishes for a complete and speedy recovery.

  5. I hope your sore arm doesn’t impede your picture taking. These are all really wonderful images. That quail is really a beauty, isn’t he? It is very exciting to see nature in action even at it’s cruelest. I don’t know who to feel more sorry for – the duck or the hawk!

  6. This sounds like such a wonderful trip, aside from the bandages of course. Your photographs are always beautiful. I especially love the cranes and the quail. The quail are fat little models, waddling in their heels on the runway showing off their bonnets.

  7. Gorgeous, GORGEOUS photos – all of them (love that little wren)!! I would LOVE it if I could look through my window and see mountains like those! So sorry about your arm – get better soon!

    • Oh, yes, I did forget. I had a “Chile-rita” at lunch, prior to my fall. (That’s a very spicy Margarita). Hmmm…Do you think that caused it?? Thanks for the comment, Toby.

      Bob

Leave a Reply

