Three birds and a rabbit


As any photographer has a habit of doing, I always shoot many images when I am in the field.  Sometimes it takes me a long time to go back and peruse all of them to see what I have.  Here I have four that I have chosen for this post.  I have included pertinent exposure info under each photograph.

  • Common Nighthawk
  • Canon 7D
  • Canon 100-400mm lens – hand-held
  • Shutter priority
  • 1/2500 @ f6.3
  • ISO 320
  • Partial metering

  • Canyon Towhee
  • Canon 7D
  • Canon 100-400mm lens – hand-held
  • Aperture priority
  • 1/500 @ f13
  • ISO 2000
  • Partial metering

  • Cottontail Rabbit
  • Canon 7D
  • Canon 100-400mm lens – hand-held
  • Program mode
  • 1/320 sec @ f9
  • ISO 250

Click on any image to see an enlargement.  Enjoy.

6 thoughts on “Three birds and a rabbit

  1. Thanks, Cindy. Nighthawks are fascinating. They are hard to spot because they can blend in so well. They also perch along parallel to the branch instead of across it.

  2. I have never seen a Bobwhite before. Its feathers look painted on, and very beautiful. I also never knew that the little nighthawk had such big eyes, although it makes sense. But my favorite is the photograph of the little rabbit. He is just charming. ~ Lynda

    • Bobwhites are gorgeous little quail. That nighthawk is the first for me this year. They are just starting to arrive here. And it is hard not to like those little cottontails. 🙂

      Thanks for writing, Lynda.

  3. Love the bunnies..we are on vacation at Lake Havasu and these little guys are everywhere on the golf course..have a great day..

Leave a Reply

