Two New Bird Visitors


Doing a little photo shooting at San Angelo State Park this morning, I spotted and photographed these two migratory visitors.  One is a Gray Catbird, a lifer for me, and the other is a MacGillivray’s Warbler, which I haven’t seen one for a couple of years.

  • Gray Catbird
  • Canon 7d
  • Canon 100-400 zoom lens
  • 1/2500 sec. @ f5.6  EV -1/3  ISO 2000
  • Shutter Priority
  • Partial metering

  • MacGillivray’s Warbler
  • Canon 7D
  • Canon 500mm lens w/1.4 teleconverter
  • 1/1250 sec. @f10 EV +1/3  ISO 2000
  • Aperture Priority
  • Partial metering

Maybe they will stay around long enough for me to get some more photographs.  Click on either image to see an enlargement.

7 thoughts on “Two New Bird Visitors

  1. Love the softness of the warbler image. I’m hoping to borrow a 70-300 lens soon and find out if I can get any bird images. I’ve been watching two couples down at the swamp behind my school: northern shovellers and green teal. I would sure like to get a couple of nice pictures of them, but I can’t sneak up on them at all – they are so wary.

    • Thanks, Cindy. The 70-300 should do you a great job. The Northern Shovelers and the Green-winged Teal are both beautiful birds. Hope you will show them afterwards. 🙂

  2. Gorgeous captures – as always! Thanks for posting the EXIF data, it’s good to see what settings captured which images. EV is definitely something that I need to study up on, figuring out when to use a + or -. One thing that I’ve noticed about my camera, is that it doesn’t handle the higher ISOs very well. Reading Ken Rockwell’s review about my camera was pretty disheartening…. he says it’s the worst DSLR that Nikon has ever made!! 😦 Not sure if that’s REALLY true or not…. but I’ve known for a little while that I need another one, anyway. Now, I just need to come up with the funds!!

  3. Love the way the branches frame the Catbird. Your background is excellent on the Warbler. you always manage to be in the right place at the right time..love it.

  4. I am always too chicken to go to manual with my camera. Hence, I battle the auto focus for pictures like the one you took of the Catbird above. Seems that the branches in the foreground vie for all the attention. I need to get over it and start shooting more with me in control of the shot. I just miss too much with auto focus. Loving the background on the Warbler!

    • Pix, your problem is easy to solve. Just set your camera focus points, so you are using ONLY the center focus point, and none of the others. Then put that single point on the bird between the leaves and branches, and Voila!!

      What is happening with the way you are doing it, is that all of your focus point are competing for something to focus on.

      If you need more help contact me by direct e-mail at the the address on the right side of my post.

Leave a Reply

