Gone for a few days, but I’ll be baaaaaack :-)


I will be gone from blogging for a few days.  I am scheduled for cataract surgery Tuesday and I don’t know if I will have time to post on Monday.  I have to go through pre-op stuff.  At any rate, I will be thinking of y’all.  I don’t know why I have to go through this surgery.  I thought it was only for old people, and I am only 76 years old. 🙂

I will show you a couple of pictures here, in keeping with my policy of having at least one picture in any given post.  Incidentally, the polls are still open so be sure to keep the votes coming in by clicking on this link, People’s Choice Award.  If per chance my photos don’t show up, just type Zeller (that’s me) in the search window.  Just click the green arrow next to the photo that you like best.

Pyrhuloxia

  • Canon EOS 7D
  • Canon 100-400mm lens
  • 1/2000 sec @ f6.3
  • ISO 1250
  • Lens focal distance  365mm
  • Shutter priority
  • Partial metering
      
Bullock’s Oriole
  • Canon EOS 7D
  • Canon 500mm IS lens with 1.4 tele-converter – hand-held
  • 1/2500 sec @ 6.3
  • ISO 2000
  • Lens focal distance  700mm
  • Shutter priority
  • Partial metering

These photos were taken at San Angelo State Park, here in San Angelo, Texas.  You can click on either of them to see an enlargement.  Don’t forget me, ‘cuz I’ll be back in a few days.

12 thoughts on “Gone for a few days, but I’ll be baaaaaack :-)

  1. Just found your blog. Wonderful shots! I’m just about to retire and want to develop my photography skills. You are an inspiration, glad I found you. You’ll be so glad you had the cataract surgery. A friend of mine had it done recently (both eyes), and she now has a new lease of life! We walked a stretch of the South West Coastal Path of England post surgery (St Ives to Penzance) and she saw things she had never seen before! We do a week of walking every year along this path, but this year was like a miracle for her! Good luck!

    • Thanks, Lynne. I’m glad you have found my blog, and you feel I am an inspiration. About my surgery, within 48 hours I was seeing in “High Definition”, driving without my glasses. I will have the left eye done on June 21st. Can’t wait. 🙂

      Thanks for writing. Please visit again.

  2. Man your photography rocks!!! By now you’ll have had your surgery and will not likely be much into reading tonight, but by tomorrow I hope you’ll be better than ever.

  3. The Pyrhuloxia is also a new bird to me, and as you said, quite similar to the female northern cardinal. As usual, lovely photos. Best of luck with the eye surgery. You’re in my thoughts as well for a speedy recovery.

    • The Pyrrhuloxia in in most of Mexico, then into the Sonoran and Chihuahuan Deserts. That takes in southeastern Arizona, southern New Mexico and southwest Texas near where I live. Many thanks for your thoughts on my eye surgery, Shelly. It is only cataract removal, but I am glad I am in your thoughts. 🙂

  4. great pictures…..our Orioles are really loving the oranges we are feeding them, but they love the grape jelly even more. Keeping us busy replenishing the supply.

  5. Prayers for you and surgery..God Speed…photos are fabulous as usual. I am not familiar with the Pyrrhuloxia..very interesting bird. I will be getting the gallery page up, hopefully this..Everyone I have told about it is excited to see your photos …

    • Thanks for your thoughts, Syl. You will have to send me a link to your gallery page. Also thsnks for telling your friends about my photos, and pass on to them that I have prints available for framing.

  6. Wow – that first bird doesn’t look like any “typical” bird I’ve ever seen before! Very unusual – but I love it!! The oriole is beautiful!! Best of luck with your surgery – it’ll go great! My mom had it done a number of years ago (piece of cake), and now can see better than ever! 🙂

    • Thanks for the kind words, Holly. I’m not worried about the surgery, but I know I will be limited for a few days with my photography. But my eye for it will probably be better than ever. Thanks again for writing. By the way, the Pyrrhuloxia is very similar to a female Northern Cardinal. It is native only to the southwestern part of the US.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

