Lemonade from lemons – Mountain Bluebirds


I spent the day going through some of my old photos.  Looking for throwaways that I might try to salvage.  I came across these two Mountain Bluebird photos that I had taken back in February of 2010, during one of my many trips to the Big Bend area of west Texas.  I wanted to get close to some of these birds, as we don’t have them around my home area,  but it was not to be.  I had to settle for a couple images taken from a distance away.

I, for some reason or another, I hadn’t tossed them.  So I decided to see if I could make something of them.  So here are the originals and the end results.  Enjoy.

un-edited

Mountain Bluebird in brush

  • Canon EOS 7D
  • Canon 100-400mm zoom lens
  • 1/500 sec. @ f8
  • ISO 1000
  • Lens focal distance 400mm
  • Metering – partial

un-edited

Mountain Bluebird on fence post

  • Canon EOS 7D
  • Canon 100-400mm zoom lens
  • 1/500 sec. @ f8
  • ISO 500
  • Lens focal distance 400mm
  • Metering – partial

So as you can see, the final results probably won’t win any awards, but I do now have some usable photos of these beautiful birds.  Maybe on my next trip I will get some close-ups.   Click on image to see an enlargement.

10 thoughts on “Lemonade from lemons – Mountain Bluebirds

  1. Fabulous! I’m still learning so my not so greats don’t come out that wonderful. 😦
    But, I got real close with a little crop duster I managed to catch the other day.
    So, I’m not giving up yet! 🙂 (got the color up from almost white, to the lovely canary yellow it really was)
    Lynda

  2. Definitely keepers – VERY nice!! 🙂 I’ve been doing the same thing lately (when I haven’t shot anything new) – I’ve been surprised at how many images I’ve overlooked during my editing sessions!

Leave a Reply

