Green Heron on Concho River


We had visited the International Water Lily Collection on Sunday morning.  After leaving there we decided to “cruise” along the drive along the Concho River.  We like to do that, as we never know what we might eventually see.  Again we were rewarded.  Ann had her binoculars trained on the opposite side of the river and she suddenly told me to stop.  We were adjacent to the downtown Santa Fe Golf Course and the river is about 100 yards wide at this point.

There, across the river almost hidden in the reeds, was a Green Heron (Butorides virescens).  These herons can be seen year around, but in greater numbers between March and October.  I took several photos with my 100-400mm lens.   Then, since the bird was concentrating on fishing, I had time to set up my 500mm lens on a tripod.  See the EXIF data below.  Click on the image to see an enlargement.

Green Heron

  • Canon EOS 7d
  • Canon 500mm IS lens with 2x tele-converter – tripod mounted
  • 1/250 sec. @ f8 – plus 1/3 EV adjustment
  • ISO 400
  • Lens focal distance – 1,000mm
  • Metering – Partial
  • Shutter priority
8 thoughts on “Green Heron on Concho River

  1. I achieved the 1000mm with my 500mm lens and attaching a 2x converter. The Green Herons are only about 17 inches tall. I was across the river about 150 yard (meters) away. Glad you liked it. 🙂

  2. Oh my gosh! 1000mm! You’re blowing me away. I really had no idea that one could kit up like that. And the image is so lovely. How big are these guys? Unless the grasses are very large, I would say they’re not even close to the Blues. He sure is a beauty though.

  3. As usual, right timing and the background lends itself to the photo..great shot especially the nuisance color of green grass…Love it..

Leave a Reply

