Great Horned Owlet II


Before I forget, please note my new on-line photo gallery.  I think you will like it.  Click this link PhotoGallery, then add it to your favorites.  🙂

I apologize for the confusion in yesterday’s post about the link.

You probably have seen my previous post about the young Great Horned Owl.  Yesterday morning we took a little drive through Spring Creek Park, and we saw the little creature again.  This time he/she had roamed into an area of trees that were “owned” by a bunch of Northern Mockingbirds.  They were chasing him, and actually physically bumping him when ever he lit on a tree branch.  He couldn’t sit still for a minute, before one of the mockingbirds ran into him, trying to knock him off of his perch.  I managed to get this photo, plus a few others, before I decided he had enough to contend with, without having to fear me also.

  •  Canon EOS 7D
  • Canon 100-400 zoom lens
  • 1/500 sec. @ f5.6
  • ISO 200
  • Lens focal distance 370mm
10 thoughts on “Great Horned Owlet II

  1. Great shot Mr. Bob.

    A couple years ago I had a nesting Great Horned Owl in a tree in the back yard, then an ice storm hit and their tree was one of the ones that fell.

    It didn’t go to far away, on a still night you can hear it Hooting.

  2. Do you think the owl was sizing them up to see what he was up against in his pursuit of the nestlings? He’s very handsome and your image is beautiful.

    The gallery looks great! You have a few images on there that you haven’t blogged, yes?

    • It is hard to say what he was thinking. Thanks for the good words about my new gallery. And yes, I have a over a thousand images that haven’t seen my blog yet. I think that most of them will ever will, but never say never. 🙂

  3. A wonderful follow up photo Bob. Those Mockingbirds can be fierce, especially if you’re near their chicks. When I was a kid they wouldn’t let my little dog out in the front yard when they had babies. 🙂

    • Thanks, Linda. I forgot to mention that, for a moment, a Red-tailed Hawk tried to make a pass at getting the owl, but he got run off by the mockingbirds, too. 🙂

  4. Thanks, Steve. I think you would like this site, too. A nice place to show your photos, and it’s free. They have an option where you can put them for sale for the modest price of only 50.00 PER YEAR. They handle the printing, etc. all you have to do is collect the commision. 🙂 Check it out. http://500px.com.

Leave a Reply

