Cattle and Snowy Egrets


I am still editing old images that were taken a couple of years ago.  They may have been seen in a previous blog post.  But with new software I think I am improving the images for sharpness and definition.  This first one is a Cattle Egret.  The photo was taken at Big Bend National Park.  We were just entering the park, and there were several of the egrets perched in some Ocotillo bushes a few yard off of the road.

Cattle Egret

  • Canon EOS 40D
  • Canon 100-400mm zoom lens
  • 1/400 sec. @ f22 – minus 1/3 EV adjustment
  • ISO  500
  • Lens focal distance 400mm
  • Metering – center weighted
  • Aperture priority

This image of a Snowy Egret was taken below the Lake Nasworthy dam in San Angelo, Texas.  He was intent on his fishing and was oblivious of me.  I was able to get within 50 feet to get the photograph.

Snow Egret

  • Canon EOS 40D
  • Canon 500mm IS lens with 1.4 tele-converter
  • 1/3200 sec. @ f6.3
  • ISO 400
  • Lens focal distance  700mm
  • Metering – partial
  • Aperture priority

I hope you again enjoy the images.  Click on either of them for enlargements.

10 thoughts on “Cattle and Snowy Egrets

  1. Beautiful images, Bob! I especially like the snow egret. The ripples in the water make the image dynamic and the reflection enhances the concentration of the bird. 🙂

    • Thank you, Holly. I really am just re-editing lots of my old stuff, since it is so hot here I am more comfortable in front of the computer. Soon, when the heat dissipates a bit, I’ll be back to making more photo outings. I am anxious to get some new stuff. But, stay with me.

  2. Cattle Egret and Ocotillo make me homesick for AZ. There is nothing more beautiful than Ocotillo in bloom. The reflection in the water is awsome..They maybe older photos but have superb quality..

    • I just live the Ocotillo. My wife and I have some in our yard along with other desert plants. When it is in bloom, there is a profusion of those fiery red blossoms. Thanks for the comment, Syl.

Leave a Reply

