Ash-throated Flycatcher


Another blast from the past.  I hadn’t realized how many images that I had stored that I haven’t had time to edit.  It’s like going up in the attic to see what’s there.   I wonder what kind of goodies I am going to come up with. 🙂

Ash-throated Flycatcher

  • Canon EOS 7D
  • Canon 500mm IS lens with 1.4 tele-converter
  • 1/2500 sec. @ f5.6
  • ISO 500
  • Lens focal distance  700mm
  • Metering – partial
  • Aperture priority.

Enjoy and click on the image to see an enlargement.

 

23 thoughts on “Ash-throated Flycatcher

  1. No problem, Mike. This blog is about photography and birds. Anybody can jump right in. The only thing about it being a Red-tailed is that they don’t have that white band across the back that shows in your second photo. It’s a touch call. Very eerie………(cue the Twilighe Zone music). 🙂

    • Well, curiosity has got me by the tail now. I just got back from the bookstore, and picked up a copy of Peterson Field Guide to Birds of N. A. (I couldn’t find Sibley’s or Stokes) In that book the bird with tail markings like BraveHawk and the white band that you mentioned is the Northern Harrier, specifically a female. ??? The problem is that So. TX is in their winter range, but this is not winter. (look! that signpost up ahead! cue music)

    • Okay, Mike, about your photos. The markings in the second photo rules out a Red-shouldered. I consulted my Sibleys Guide, and my Stokes Guide. I can’t give a definitive answer, but my guesses would be Broad-winged Hawk or possible a Harris Hawk. I can see enough rust or red in the first photo that would show a Red-shouldered or, actually Harris. But the second photo shows markings that makes me lean toward the Broad-winged. But, like I say, those are only guesses, but definitely not a Red-shouldered because of the second photo. If anyone else wants to try the ID check out Mike’s two photos at http://myphotomemries.blogspot.com/

      • First off, I apologize for taking over this post! I don’t know what got into me.. I broke down and checked in the only bird ID book I have, the “Book of North American Birds” and the tail with it’s red markings with a black band tipped in white looks like the drawing of a red-tailed hawk. The tail of the broad-winged is very different, and more like the red shouldered hawk. And you are right, it definitely does not look like a red shouldered hawk.

  2. Finding gems in the archive is both one of the joys and one of the quandaries of our craft, Bob. You’ve pulled out some beautiful images in the last few days. Can’t wait to see more.

    -jim

    • You know how it is. I take about 150 images on an outing. I come home and check out two or three, then forget about the remaining ones. The next day I go out and do the same. Those remaining ones pile up in my files, until by chance, when I have a lot of time on my hands, I finally get back to having a look at them. Such is the period that I am going through at the present. Thanks, Jim for commenting.

  3. I will have to get them out of my phone and onto My Photographic Memories. Most probably this weekend. Just looking at the files on the phone screen, some are ok. Wish I’da had my camera!

    Mike

  4. Another goodern, Bob! I’ll try to keep my camera handy and I’ll send you photos of some 100% Officially Redneck Recognized and Observed Yankee Birds when I can. 🙂

  5. That’s a pretty one, Bob. I just took a photo of a hawk in the parking lot of the Marriott Courtyard in Houston TX! I called it BraveHawk. Cars driving by, people passing by, nothing bothered it as it ate dinner…
    Enjoy the time in the attic. Keep posting!

    Mike Z

Leave a Reply

