An American Avocet


When I was having so much fun writing my post yesterday, about the exploits of Ann and I, I forgot to mention that we had come across this American Avocet (Recurvirostra americana).  Boy, how is that for a Latin name?  Just try to say that while standing on your head.  I bet Delbert Tarter could.  He, by the way, is one of my go-to guys, when I am stumped about bird information.  Anyway, we were driving around some of those little parks near Lake Nasworthy.  I believe this avocet had a nest nearby, close to the water, because he was trying to lure me away from there as I was trying to get the picture.

American Avocet

  • Canon EOS 7D
  • Canon 100-400mm zoom lens
  • 1/2000 sec. @ f5.6
  • ISO  250
  • Lens focal distance  400mm
  • Metering – partial
  • Shutter priority

By the way, as you may have noticed, I have “re-decorated” my blog.  I hope you like the new, cleaner look.  You, of course, can click on the image to see an enlargement.

11 thoughts on “An American Avocet

    • Thanks, Ted. It was so easy to switch over. I just clicked activate, and there it was. It has the same setup as the old one. Plus, the option of adding your own photo in the header. Like I did, I took a portion of a picture of some painted rocks. I may tweak that a little yet.

  1. I like the new theme, Bob.

    I saw my first American Avocet (#105 on the life list) down here in San Antonio this past weekend. Beautiful bird and you’ve captured it beautifully.

    -jim

Leave a Reply

