Images from Hummer House Nature Retreat


I am still going through old images whenever I have extra time.  Today I came across a few more from a trip in May 2010 to the Hummer House Nature Retreat, at Christoval, Texas.  Here are a couple of those gems.

Bathing Painted Bunting

I should have entered this in Karma’s Rainbow colored Photo hunt. 🙂  The Painted Bunting is truly a hand-painted masterpiece from the Man himself.

  • Canon EOS 7D
  • Canon 500mm IS lens with 1.4 tele-converter
  • 1/640 sec. @ f9 – minus 2/3 EV adjustment
  • ISO 250
  • Lens focal distance – 700mm
  • Metering – partial
  • Aperture priority

Eastern Phoebe

It is amazing that I have never posted a photo of an Eastern Phoebe before this.  It could be that they are hard to get close to, and I have usually seen them only from a distance.  For both of these shots, I was inside an air-conditioned observation room and photographing through a plate glass window.

  • Canon EOS 7D
  • Canon 500mm IS lens with 1.4 tele-converter
  • 1/400 sec. @ f7.1
  • ISO 500
  • Lens focal distance – 700mm
  • Metering – partial
  • Aperture priority

Click on either image to see an enlargement.

8 thoughts on “Images from Hummer House Nature Retreat

  1. I’ve only ever seen the Painted Bunting in pictures. It has a migratory range in the very most southern part of our state and the panhandle of Florida. I hope to see one in real life someday! Maybe on vacation, who knows?

    Your photo of the bathing beauty is wonderful! 🙂
    Lynda

  2. The Eastern Phoebe is a very interesting bird..I have not seen one before. The painted bunting is a beauty, and the water makes a perfect blend of nature. Great shots..

  3. I am very behind on leaving comments and reading blogs this past week and a half – I hope to get caught up soon. I LOVE the bunting. The colors and texture in the water are a lovely backdrop for this stunning bird.

Leave a Reply

