YEE-HAH!! Published again…………


I have great news again.  I have been published again for the second time in National Wildlife Magazine.  But, strangely, it is the same photo of mine that was on the cover of the August 2010 issue.  This time it is on page 8 of the October 2011 issue.  If you didn’t see it last year, here is the image.

Prairie Dogs at San Angelo, Texas

  •  Canon EOS 20D with Canon 100-400mm zoom lens
  • 1/3200 sec. @ f5.6 – ISO 3200
  • Lens focal distance – 380mm
  • Partial metering – Aperture priority

I apologize for being such a braggart, but I am kind of proud of my achievements over the years.  This photo of the old mission near Menard was published in the February 2007 issue of Wild West Magazine.  They were doing an article on this historic ruin and purchased the rights to use the picture.

Presidio De San Saba

 This photo of a water lily from the San Angelo International Water Lily Collection was publishd in the November 1999 issue of Photographer’s Forum Magazine.

"Magnificent Ballerina"

In the December 2008 issue of Texas Farm and Ranch Magazine, this quail photo appeared in an ad for “Blue Quail Hunts at the Felix River Ranch” in New Mexico.

Scaled Quail

When Ross McSwain decided to write his story, “See No Evil, Speak No Evil”, he approached me about a photo for the cover of the book.  This one of the barn and wagon is the one he picked.  Published in August 2008.

"Old Barn and Wagon"

And you thought that I only took bird photographs. 🙂

In other news, this probably will be my last post for about a week or so.  Ann and I are leaving Monday morning to spend a few days around or near Big Bend National Park.  We will be staying near Terlingua, the home of the annual National Chili Cookoff, which happens sometime in November.  Our room will actually be a little cabin at about 3 miles from the entrance to Big Bend NP.  Click this link, FarFlung Outdoor Center and if you like come down and join us. 🙂

Today and tomorrow will be spent doing the usual chores that pertain to traveling.  Checking my cameras and equipment, washing the car, buying last minute items, stopping the paper, and the mail, etc.  So don’t forget me in our absence and I will probably post again sometime next weekend.  Hopefully, I’ll have some more news and images from our trip.

Have a great week! 🙂

38 thoughts on “YEE-HAH!! Published again…………

  1. That’s what blogs are really for aren’t they? Bragging just a little? Very nice Bob! I think your prairie dogs look like they should definitely have one of your critter conversations going on. Have a great time on your trip!

  2. its eneey meeny miny moe…the photos are awesome..love the prairie dogs..have a great trip..look forward to your new photos…travels blessing to you both

  3. Bob, your photos are all awesome and it’s great to be a proud published photographer! Congratulations on your accomplishments. Those prairie dogs are adorable, I can see that image as a greeting card or marking material too!!

  4. Yippee!! This is an incredible photo – I can see why it’s been published more than once!! All of these are pure art – certainly deserving of publication. I’m so happy for you!! 🙂 Have a wonderful time on your trip, and I’m looking forward to seeing the photos!

  5. My dear friend Bob,
    I’m very proud of your accomplishments, you work is commendable and wonderful. I feel honored to have met you. I wish I could join you on that trip. I wish you to have a great time and go easy on the Chilli 🙂 Of course I’ll miss your nice comments and interesting chat. Don’t forget to take notes on a journal so you can write nice blogs for our delight. Have a good trip partner!

  6. Love this post… and love that you have been published so many times! Congrats to you again!!! That prairie dog photograph is amazing 🙂 Have fun on your trip!!! I’m sure you will have lots of photographs to post in a week!

Leave a Reply

