Recapping the past week…….


Here it is, another week-end.  Where does time go?  They say that after you are over the hill, you begin to pick up speed.  I think there is a lot of truth in that.  I feel that I am going so fast that I need to jump off the moving what-ever I’m on. 🙂

Anyway, this past week I have spent doing posts about our Big Bend National Park adventure.  Then I started going through my images from that trip.  Nearly 700 of them, but a lot of duplicates, that I thinned out so I could have a better over-all look at what I had.  From my posts, you can see that it seemed that all I was concerned with was scenic pictures.  That was partly true, as the desert and mountain views were awesome.  On that point, I might add that I sold a framed 12×16 of one of those immediately, and I spent Friday morning finishing that job.

But my mind, as always, was on birds and birding, too.  Ann and I were constantly on the alert for some exciting sightings.  Where we were the most successful was at the Rio Grande Village RV area.  No campers or RVers around so we had the place almost to ourselves.  There were birds of many species.  We upped our bird count for the year pretty well and got a few photographs as well.  We also added a lifer, the Sora that we saw pecking in the grass along the roadway.

Here are a couple of those photos:

Vermilion Flycatcher

  • Vermilion Flycatcher – Photographed Sept. 27,2011
  • Canon 7D with 500mm lens and 1.4 tele-converter
  • 1/1250 sec @ f6.3 –  ISO 400
  • Aperture priority

Audubon Yellow-rumped Warbler

  • Yellow-rumped Warbler – photographed Sept. 27, 2077
  • Canon 7D with 500mm lens and 1.4 tele-converter
  • 1/1250 sec @ f6.3 – ISO 320
  • Aperture priority

The Vermilion Flycatcher (Pyrocephalus rubinus), provided the most challenging effort.  There were several of them, but this one was flitting around near a picnic table, hopping from the grass to a nearby tree branch, then back again.  We pulled into the parking spot where I had a good vantage point.  I propped my camera and lens on my Puffin’ Pad window support and just waited for the right moments.  Their red color is so vibrant and vivid it almost washes out some detail.

There are two pre-dominant species of the Yellow-rumped Warbler.  The “Myrtle” and the “Audubon”.  I identified the one pictured as an Audubon, (Dendroica coronata auduboni), mainly because of the yellow throat.

Click on either image to see an enlargement, and also click on my Flickr logo on the right side of this page.  There you can see all of my photographs that I have up-loaded to date.  I am still working on that and many more of my photos will soon be added there.

 

 

11 thoughts on “Recapping the past week…….

  1. As always, Bob, just wonderful photos. Love to see the birds in your neck of the woods, and you do seem to give the birds some personality which I love in a photo. 🙂 And CONGRATS on selling your print! Wonderful. You deserve to be seen and sold far and wide. 🙂

  2. Beautiful Flycatcher. I love the vibrant red color and the way it’s framed perfectly between the branches and stunning background green. Makes a great Christmas card.

  3. I know the feeling that life is really speeding…but you know what…we are busy people, that is why. My favorite shot is the wonderful Vermillion Flycatcher..I have a real sentimental attachment for this little guy…Thanks for sharing…

  4. I love the work you do Bob…and you’re not over the hill, many other fellows with less years of age that you wish to have your vitality and enthusiasm!… Me? 🙂
    H.J.

Leave a Reply

